I did not post my home on your site. Someone has taken my ad from craigs list and this person lives in China and is saying he owns MY HOME.

Asked by Rosie, Columbus, GA Sat Aug 13, 2011

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:


Emily Erekuff, Home Owner, Menifee, CA
Mon Aug 15, 2011
Hi Rosie,

We can absolutely remove this incorrect information from our site. Please provide us with a link to this listing on our site or the complete property address and price. You can post that information here in an answer or send it to our Customer Service team via the link below.

Thank you,

Emily Erekuff
Community Moderator
0 votes
Patti Simkins, Agent, Columbus, GA
Sat Aug 13, 2011
Yes, this is a very common scam and I have had it happen to a buyer client who saw a VERY nice home for rent on Craigslist for half of what it should rent for. The fraudulent owner said he had to be out of the country immediately and if the buyer/renter would just wire him the money, he would "save" the house for him and he could come to the house the following Saturday and move in. There were six families who showed up at this person's home. The house had been listed for sale and three of the six families had wired the money to an offshore account. If you see a really nice home advertised for rent for a very small amount, beware! The more publicity this scam can get, the better, so prospective renters will not be victimized.
0 votes
Suzanne MacD…, Agent, Morristown, NJ
Sat Aug 13, 2011
This is a very common scam on Craigs List. Are they trying to rent the home? That's usually the way it works. Contact both the administrator here on Trulia AND the folks at Craigs List and report this person.

They are trying to get people to wire transfer the money for rent and security deposit into a foreign bank account, they keep the money and the poor person who sent it is out of luck.
0 votes
Michael Hamm…, Agent, Suwanee, GA
Sat Aug 13, 2011
Please contact Emily Erekuff "emily@trulia.com" and get her to address this, Rosie. Good Luck!

Michael Hammond


0 votes
Bola Omotayo, Agent, Tucker, GA
Sat Aug 13, 2011
i dont have your home on my site either i don't understand your question.
0 votes
Robin Buntin, Agent, Columbus, GA
Sat Aug 13, 2011
If you are the owner of the property you need to contact this person and try to clear this matter up. If you are a renter then you need to contact the owner of the porperty and inform they. Is the house posted on my web-site? http://www.robinsellscolumbus.com You can also contact Craig List ad they can assist you with this matter.
0 votes
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Using Trulia in Columbus Zip Codes

Email me when…

Learn more