Niki from Trulia here. Wow good answer from Christine!
Just a little to add, it depends on how the listing was submitted to us, if the delete button will remove the listing from the site.
If we are receiving the listing data from a "feed" from another site, such as a broker site, then the delete button will remove the listing from your profile and your claim to the listing. You must update the listing status with the source site and allow sufficient time for the listing to be removed from Trulia. You can use the "flag" option in the listing to have it removed, again allowing time for us to receive the request and remove the listing.
If you manually submitted the listing then delete from the "my listings" page will remove the listing from the site.
Thank you for using Trulia for your real estate needs. Please feel free to contact us directly with any other questions by email firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone 1-888-466-3501 Monday - Friday 7am to 4pm PST.