Why is it so cheep?

Asked by Jennifer Cancino, 91501 Wed Mar 19, 2014

This question was asked from this property: http://www.trulia.com/rental/3149039050-1520-N-Rose-St-Burba…

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:


John Juarez, Agent, Fremont, CA
Fri Mar 21, 2014
It is often unbelievably low rent that first attracts victims of a rental scam. The scammers count on the victim casting aside common sense in order to get an unusually good deal. Don't be fooled! Look carefully at any rental offering that is out of the norm in any way.
0 votes
Norma And Te…, Agent, Burbank, CA
Thu Mar 20, 2014
Hi Sona
The property on Rose is listed for sale not lease and is already in escrow with a pending sale.

What scammers are doing is skimming photos from our MLS listings and turning around and posting fake rental listings.

We did a blog about these types of rental scams back in April of last year - please read here: http://www.trulia.com/blog/the_achievers_group_norma/2013/04…

Here is also part 2 of that same blog post on how a fake agent (an impostor) managed to scam 9 women for approx $21,000 total: http://www.trulia.com/blog/the_achievers_group_norma/2014/03…

We have called the listing agent and made her aware of this fake rental ad as well as flagged the listing on Trulia.

Norma and Kyle
The Achievers Group
REMAX Town Center
0 votes
Lance King, Agent, San Francisco, CA
Thu Mar 20, 2014
If I were looking for a rental I wouldn't even bother with trulia. There have been so many scams reported here that it would be hard to have confidence in anyone posting on this site.
0 votes
Lance, unfortunately these types of scams happen on many sites not just trulia
Flag Fri Mar 21, 2014
Trevolyn Hai…, Agent, Highland, CA
Thu Mar 20, 2014
Definitely a scam. To make sure that they have the most complete list of available properties Trulia gets data from many different sites. Be especially wary of ads originating from sites that allow anyone to post (this one came from rentalads.com one such site).



For some good tips to avoid being scammed.
0 votes
& Almost forgot: 'Flag' the listing to notify Trulia of the fraud.
Flag Thu Mar 20, 2014
Daina Burness, Agent, Burbank, CA
Thu Mar 20, 2014
I don't know where Trulia is pulling its information from but this home is for sale not for lease and it would be nowhere near that price.
0 votes
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Property Q&A in Burbank Zip Codes

Email me when…

Learn more