Should I have a home inspection before I put my home on the market?

Asked by Teresa Whitlock, Charlotte, NC Fri Oct 4, 2013

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

7
Pam Minore, Agent, Cary, NC
Sat Oct 5, 2013
Hi Teresa,
This can be a good idea since you will know ahead of time if there are any items that need fixing.
You can then decide if you want to do the work, or give an allowance to the buyer to do the work themselves. It can also be a selling point to show buyers that you are being upfront about your property. If you have any questions, you can always e-mail me at pminore@fmrealty.com
0 votes
Daniel Fisher, Agent, Charlotte, NC
Sat Oct 5, 2013
Good morning. Teresa:
Pre-inspect or not depends on the seller, their financial situation, the list price, the age of the home, the condition at time of sale of comparable homes in the area and many other variables.

People seem to generally sell "as is", "fully operational & reasonably fixed up" and "pristine". If the buyer also does an inspection, which most do, pre-inspection is usually a waste of money because 1) the price of the inspection is double paid 2) the sellers pre inspection cost could have gone to repairs 3) trip charges are doubled if the buyer finds something that could have been fixed when the service personnel were there the first time.

Generally, it seems best to visually inspect the house and get it in clean and functioning "move in ready" condition and let the buyer tell Seller what more they want done, then negotiate the scope, timing and payment mechanism for the requested repairs.

If you appreciate an answer, please give thumbs up. For the most helpful answer, please say thanks with a best answer click.
0 votes
Dennis Cummi…, , Charlotte, NC
Sat Oct 5, 2013
Good Morning Teresa,
It depends on if you want to be proactive or reactive, Potenial buyers are going to have your home inspected once you accept their contract and ask that you make certain repairs, By getting the inspection before you will know what to expect prior to going under contract and address those corrections if you choose to do so.
0 votes
Savvy Homes, Agent, charlotte, NC
Sat Oct 5, 2013
There are Pros and Cons to doing a home inspection before you list your home. In the Pro column you will know what issues you have that might "scare" a buyer so you can fix them. You also will know what you are looking at as far as cost go. The biggest PRO, if your home is in good shape and you don't have many repairs, you can say you did some or all of them, then you can present that inspection report to the buyer before they make an offer. Then you can tell them you want to negotiate any repairs from the inspection report with the offer. This can work in the sellers favor as you know during the negotiations what to expect from the buyer. And in North Carolina, with the Due Diligence contract you can negotiate a higher DD fee as the buyer has less of his money "at risk" going into the contract.

CONs are if you do not have the funds to do repairs you will have to disclose the issues to the buyer. This will scare a lot of buyers away from the house and prompt "low ball" offers from some others. Almost ever home buyer will get a home inspection of their own and, trust me, every inspector will find different things. And every buyer will worry about different things.

Your best bet is to consult with your real estate agent and see what they recommend based on your specific home and financial situation. An experienced agent will be able to advise you on what to do to your home to get top dollar in the shortest amount of time.
0 votes
dave, Agent, Charlotte, NC
Sat Oct 5, 2013
Teresa

I agree with having a home inspection prior to listing a house. For one it will help you know what repairs need to be done on a house. It allows the seller to complete the repairs prior to listing the house as well and adds a peace of mind to the buyer looking at the house that the home is in good shape and ready to move into.

Now there are drawbacks to this as well if you disclose the home inspection report to all potential buyers. I showed one house that they had done a pre listing inspection to the house. From the looks of the house it appeared the house was in great shape. But the inspection report showed numerous issues with the house that the seller began addressing... My buyer felt that with all the repairs the house needed (even though the seller was doing them) the home was not properly maintained and what over issues were going to come up. They decided against putting an offer in on that house and the listing agent said it has been more of a hindrance than a help on that particular listing because of the amount of repairs and maintenance the house needed.

Dave diCecco
Realtor/Broker
Helen Adams Realty
Cell: 704-519-7895
ddicecco@helenadamsrealty.com
http://www.davedicecco.com
0 votes
Lisa Brann, , Charlotte, NC
Sat Oct 5, 2013
I wouldn't as long as you are willing to make repairs later. The buyer will pay for the inspection once under contract (approx $400).
0 votes
Teresa Whitl…, Agent, Charlotte, NC
Fri Oct 4, 2013
It's a good idea to have a home inspection before your home is listed, so that you know what repairs are needed and should be done prior to listing your property, it will cut down on the negotiations and concessions when "offers" are made.
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question

Email me when…

Learn more