This is from the California Association of Realtors website per the Laws of the State of California - I hope this helps.
Foreclosure SB 1137
Notices to Tenants & Owner-Occupants; REO Lender/Trustee's Sale Purchaser Obligations
(eff. 7/8/08 and 9/9/08) The foreclosing lender must now give the tenant a 60-day notice instead of the previous 30-day notice. [Note,however, for Section 8 tenants the notice period is not changed and remains 90 days.] Furthermore, the 60-day notice period does not apply to the owner--or any party to the note--who is occupying the foreclosed property. The owner or party to the note need be given only a 3-day notice to quit.
Tenant/owner-occupant must also get a statutory notice of the foreclosure (in 6 different languages) once a notice of sale has been posted on a property. This foreclosure notice must be posted along with the notice of sale and also mailed to the tenant/owner-occupant. This provision takes effect 60 days after the measure becomes law. (eff. 9/9/08) For a copy of the notice, click here.
A lender cannot file an NOD until 30 days after contact is made with the borrower to "assess the borrower's financial situation and explore options for the borrower to avoid foreclosure" or 30 days after satisfying due diligence requirements to contact the borrower. The lender must advise the borrower of the right to request a subseqent meeting within 14 days, and to provide the borrower the toll-free phone number of a HUD-certified housing counseling agency.
A foreclosing lender or purchaser at a trustee's sale (or foreclosure sale) must "maintain" the condition (defined in the statute) of the property or be subject to a fine of up to $1,000 per day per violation.
Added Code of Civil Procedure section 1161b, Civil Code sections 2923.5, 2923.6, 2923.8, and 2929.3.
Best fo luck,
Broker & Realtor
Orange County, CA