Is there a resource available to review sales by agent and realty office? I am trying to find a good real estate agent.

Asked by Rkfwheaton, Wheaton, IL Sun Oct 18, 2009

My current real estate agent seems to have a full-time job, which is understandable in this economy; however, she is not responsive to my phone calls and emails which leads me to believe she is the same with emails and calls from agents of potential buyers. Time to find a new agent. Looking to sell.

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

12
The Gates Lo…, Agent, Wheaton, IL
Fri Jan 4, 2013
Here are a few resources to show you how RE/MAX ranks in your area. I would be more than happy to speak to you about purchasing or selling real estate. gatesloth@gmail.com

Wheaton "Listings Sold" -
http://media.reliancenetwork.com/dynamic/realestate/company/…

Wheaton "Sales Made" -

http://media.reliancenetwork.com/dynamic/realestate/company/…


Wheaton "Total Transactions" -

http://media.reliancenetwork.com/dynamic/realestate/company/…
Web Reference:  http://gatesloth.com
0 votes
Corey Schraw, Agent, Wheaton, IL
Thu Nov 5, 2009
If you look at some REAL ESTATE company websites you can see homes that an agent currently has listed and what they have sold. Baird and Warner is a prime example of a website that shows the agents listings. In todays market you should consider only full time agents to sell your home. Another option is to call the Managing Broker at any major Realty company. They can tell you who the top listing agents are in their respective office. Try to find a local Realtor that lives in your area.
Web Reference:  http://www.coreyschraw.com
0 votes
Cheryl Shurtz, Agent, Wheaton, IL
Thu Oct 29, 2009
To answer your question, there is no resource for a consumer to easily check if an agent is a "career" Realtor or "part-time" or how many homes they have sold in the last year. As some of the other responses have suggested - you can check out internet sites and print advertising to see which agents have the most listings and how they market them. When interviewing Realtors, ask specific questions, ask for references, ask how many closed sales they've had in the last 12 months and ask for their Marketing Plan with examples of how they market a home. Visit their web site. There are lot of great Realtors in Wheaton that will work very hard "with you" to get your home sold. I know you will find a Realtor that will provide you with great service.
Web Reference:  http://www.CLSHomes.net
0 votes
Mark & Carol…, Agent, Lake Worth, FL
Thu Oct 22, 2009
I don't know where you live. But with Coldwell Banker we cannot be part time. When I referr agents out of my area I always go to our referral department and they only use full time agents. You can search Realtor.com or Trulia, Coldwell Banker.com in your area and find the agent that is doing all the listing. This is the person I would call.
0 votes
Casey Spencer, Agent, Meadow Vista, CA
Sun Oct 18, 2009
As an agent, I LOVE when a client can identify his/her most important customer-service criteria, i.e. "phone replies within 12 hours, e-mail within 24," etc.

Find a Realtor who has a present-day track record of sold listings, and feel free to ask for (and check) references, i.e. recent happy clients.

If an agent is "honest and direct," it's more valuable - - - in reaching your goal, at least - - - than strictly "charming & complimentary." Realtors strive to be ALL of those things, but sometimes the top producers aren't the sweetest . . . but who ARE most able to help sellers truly study, understand, and ENGAGE in the most effective steps - - - even if painful or inconvenient - - - that result in a closed sale.

Kerry is right: Keep in mind that a good professional agent can "only do so much" if the property is overpriced, inaccessible, beset by neighborhood problems (curable or otherwise), or if it presents repair issues that obstruct regular financing.

Ultimately, in my experience, there is always a buyer...but buyers are better-educated than ever before, and their decisions are ruled by VALUE over all else, regardless of the neighborhood, price segment, or quality level they seek. Once you know that your property is as marketable as possible, and your agent is working at 100%, don't wait long to adjust the price unless you're getting action.
0 votes
Ekerry.com, , Wheaton-Glen Ellyn
Sun Oct 18, 2009
Google should be able to help you locate all the Realtors in your community.

Be up front with the next agent regarding why your home is under performing. Don't assume price is the only issue you may have some other factors in play.
Web Reference:  http://ekerry.com
0 votes
Patrick Thies, Agent, Anytown, IL
Sun Oct 18, 2009
As long as you have a clean break from the current agent and broker is letting you out of your listing agreement without commission due to them, then you are free to find a new agent to represent you. Be sure to interview the agent that you seek to make sure that they are what you are looking for and will help you in the manner that you wish. Best of luck
0 votes
Rkfwheaton, Home Seller, Wheaton, IL
Sun Oct 18, 2009
Thank you for the input. At this time, I am able to get out of the contract without any consequences. Does that change any of the previous responses?
0 votes
Casey Spencer, Agent, Meadow Vista, CA
Sun Oct 18, 2009
I agree with Patrick, Answer #1: The odds are that you have a contract with your agent's broker, which probably obliges you legally (I'm not an atty., but typically these contracts are binding).

That being said, the broker deserves to hear your exact complaint along with your request, for example "Let me out of the contract immediately," or "Find me an agent who meets the following specifications..."

Naturally, there are many agents here on trulia who would like to help, but we also want to know when we let clients down. That's how we improve. If your contract gets cancelled, we are more free to advise you.
Web Reference:  http://www.how2sellhigh.com
0 votes
Michele Nixon, Agent, Naperville, IL
Sun Oct 18, 2009
Patrick makes some good points to deal with the current situation.

Beyond that, interviewing a few agents is key. You want an full-time real estate agent who will be always present to deal with phone calls and emails from potential buyers - buyers who could have already bought your home.

It's also frustrating to other agents when you can't reach another agent who won't answer their phones or emails. Many times I've had ready, willing and able buyers that had a strong interest in a particular property that we never saw because the listing agent was absent. Even more frustrating when they make up the whole company and there's no one else to talk to.

Good luck with your home sale!
Web Reference:  http://www.MicheleNixon.com
0 votes
Ekerry.com, , Wheaton-Glen Ellyn
Sun Oct 18, 2009
Your listing agreement must expire before you can sign a new contract. The broker may assign a new agent from his/her office until the contract expires. Open the paper and look for name of agents who advertise on a regular basis they are likely to be full time.

Jim
Web Reference:  http://ekerry.com
0 votes
Patrick Thies, Agent, Anytown, IL
Sun Oct 18, 2009
It appears that you already have a relationship with an agent. I would suggest that you contact the agents broker and discuss this matter with them. The broker may suggest an agent that will meet your needs better. Depending on whether or not you have signed anything with the current broker, you may have some obligation financially with that broker. It's best to try and work something out with the current situation before moving on to another agent or office.
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question
Market Conditions in Wheaton Zip Codes

Email me when…

Learn more