Ssimp, Home Buyer in Waxhaw, NC

who pays for the home inspection?

Asked by Ssimp, Waxhaw, NC Sun Sep 18, 2011

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

11
Ryan Harlan-…, Agent, Charlotte, NC
Mon Feb 23, 2015
Hi Ssimp,

The buyer usually pays for the home inspection/s but I do have a program that if you are eligible our company would reimburse you for the cost of the home inspections up to a specific dollar amount. Please feel free to contact me and i can review the program in more detail. Thanks Ryan 704/608-4767 C/T
0 votes
Sarah Goulart…, Agent, Plymouth, MA
Mon Sep 19, 2011
I agree with everyone else. The buyers are responsible, but a credit can be requested (although that is very rare in my market).
0 votes
John Barry, Agent, Eagle Rock, VA
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Hi Ssimp,

As the others have mentioned, the buyer is normally responsible for the inspection. One thing to add though, while you can ask for a credit from the seller to cover the cost, normally the inspector will still need to be paid directly by the buyer out of pocket at the time of the inspection, and not paid through the closing of the escrow. This is because it would be a conflict of interest for the inspector to have his payment subject to whether or not the escrow closes - they could be accused of not providing a completely neutral report and holding back on negative items in order to make sure the escrow goes through and they get paid. This is why most if not all inspectors will require payment up front.

Good luck in your property search.

John Barry
DRE #01856079
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage
Cell: 323-810-7976
Email: john.barry@coldwellbanker.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/RealtorJB
Twitter: @RealtorJB
0 votes
Alain Picard, Agent, Puyallup, WA
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Usually the buyer pays for the home inspection.
0 votes
Mona Gersky, Agent, Dillsboro, NC
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Generally speaking in NC, the Buyer pays for the Home Inspection during the Due Diligence period. However, there is an area in the NC Listing Agreement that offers the Seller the opportunity to pay for the Home Inspection.

If you have selected the house you want to purchase, you could first have your Buyer's Agent ask the Listing Agent if the seller elected to pay for a Home Inspection in his Listing Agreement. Failing that, you can try making the seller paying for the Inspection a condition of your initial offer. The worst thing that could happen is the seller says no.

Good luck with your purchase.
0 votes
Mike Sullivan, Agent, Gainesville, FL
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Hi Ssimp....yes, the buyer usually pays for the home inspection, though it may be negotiated that the seller pays. It's important to realize that the home inspector represents you, and you need to be the one to select the inspector. I would not want to rely on the results of an inspector selected by and paid for by the seller! Be sure the inspector is properly licensed, is a member of a state or local association of inspectors (such as ASHI), and has experience....talk to a few, or ask your realtor for some recommendations.
0 votes
Shanna Rogers, Agent, Murrieta, CA
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Hi Ssimp,

Everything is negotiable. However, in CA, it is usually the buyer who pays for the home inspection. And, I HIGHLY recommend you have one done, even if you have to pay for it.

Shanna Rogers
SR Realty
http://www.RealtyBySR.com
0 votes
Scott Godzyk, Agent, Manchester, NH
Sun Sep 18, 2011
The buyer pays for the home inspection, it is one of teh important steps in buying a home to check for structural issues, your agent should be able to provide you with teh name of a couple of different companies that have done good jobs in the past.
Web Reference:  http://www.ScottSellsNH.com
0 votes
Kevin Olson,…, Agent, Colorado Springs, CO
Sun Sep 18, 2011
The buyer normally pays, but Rose is correct in that you can ask for a credit. Finding a good inspector can make the cost for the inspection well worth it. Peace of mind is priceless!
0 votes
Rose V. Boas, Agent, Danville, VA
Sun Sep 18, 2011
In California we have a 'Buyers Inspection Advisory' (form CAR-BIA) which informs a buyer on the importance of getting an inspection/investigation of the property. A Seller does not have to pay for this, but could elect to credit the buyer for the cost of the inspection through escrow (once it closes). However, it is up to the buyer to request/schedule an inspection and not necessary or required to close on a house.

Check with your Realtor/real estate agent and see if he/she can negotiate the cost of an inspection as part of a closing cost credit to you. My advice, get one done regardless. You want to know what issues and/or deferred maintenance you may be buying in to.

My best to you!
0 votes
Anna M Brocco, Agent, Williston Park, NY
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Generally the buyer pays....
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question

Email me when…

Learn more