Irishmurphy, Home Buyer in 33609

how much does a home inspection cost in Tampa, fl?

Asked by Irishmurphy, 33609 Thu Jun 16, 2011

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

10
Alma Kee, Agent, Tampa, FL
Thu Jun 16, 2011
$250 to $400 depending on the size of the house and if there is a pool. Wind Mitigation report is a good idea if the home will qualify for a discount and may be offered by the home inspector for as litte as $55 extra.

You can find an experienced Home Inspector here:

http://www.Ashi.org

Hope this helps.

Alma

PS I wouldn't always recommend taking the advise of a Realtor because unfortunately some Realtors will endorse Home Inspectors that may not be as critical so the "deal" doesn't fall apart!

PPS These inspectors have been very diligent in Tampa:

Mike Penley, Quality Inspections,727-796-4269
mpenley@qualityinspections.biz

Bruce Jones Blue Moon Home Inspection Contact details 813-964-5658
John Astl Avail-A-Pro Home Inspection Services, Inc. Contact details * 813-972-5206
Neal Fuller Contact details * 727-858-2975
Tom Bannister Certified Inspection, Inc. Contact details * 727-376-8999
Kevin Koplar Koplar Consulting, Inc. Contact details * 727-781-4663
Thomas Tafelski Thomas Inspection Services, Inc Contact details * 727-535-5576
1 vote
The price depends on several factors, quality of the work, size of the home and whether they include any extras such as wind mitigation. One of the things that can be an indicator of the quality of work is how long it takes them for the inspection. A typical inspector takes 2.5 - 4 hours if it's a single inspector. If an inspector is in and out in and hour or less then guaranteed they aren't checking everything.
Flag Sat Jun 6, 2015
I will put myself in the mix. I am a Hud 203k Consultant and a Certified and Licensed Home Inspector. Got over 15 years of experience. Less than 5% of all home inspectors are Hud Certified and Approved. 813 625 2421 Steve Wiegner Diversified Inspection Services LLC
Flag Thu Sep 26, 2013
Lola H Walker, Agent, St Petersburg, FL
Tue Oct 11, 2016
Cost depends on the size of the house and what inspections you request: You may want not only a home inspection but also a 4-pt Inspection if the house is over 50 years old and you are getting a loan. Lenders require insurance on the property and insurance companies require 4-Pt inspections per the above. Costs can range from $250-$300 for a condo inspection or up to $450 or $500 for a home over 2500 sq ft. You may also want a pool inspection, a wind mitigation inspection (which gives points toward the cost of insurance, possibly), and a WDO (wood destroying organism - for dryrot and termites) is recommended.
0 votes
Chris, Home Buyer, Tampa, FL
Wed Apr 20, 2016
Asking this kind of question is like asking how much a car costs. Are you looking to buy a high quality Lexus or Mercedes or would you be satisfied with a Ford Focus? I would suggest that you speak to other recent buyers in the area, local realtors and also look at reviews on sites like Google or Yelp. You may save $25 or even $100 or more by shopping strictly on price but the thoroughness and quality of the inspection will reflect the low price. Check experience, background and reputation of the inspector, NOT the inspection company alone. There are many franchise type companies that may have an overall 'good' reputation but that may not accurately reflect the quality of inspector YOU will get. Do your homework! Ask for a sample report and compare the quality. Your home purchase is probably the largest purchase you'll ever make so why short-change it to save a few bucks which, out of the entire scheme of things, is inconsequential but could end up costing you thousands or tens of thousands of dollars.

Chris Mohr
Quantex Home Inspections
352-457-5444
http://www.inspection-1.com
0 votes
Steven Wiegn…, Other Pro, Riverview, FL
Mon Sep 28, 2015
Do not book an inspection based on price. A few hundred dollars more may get you a better inspector and a better view of conditions. Steve Wiegner Diversified Inspections LLC 813 625 2421
0 votes
lynnnchase9, , Omaha, NE
Tue May 19, 2015
In my opinion, I would say that it depends on the home inspector you hire. I would suggest calling different home inspection companies in your area and ask them what their rate is. They should be able to give you a few prices and numbers. This should be able to help you know what you're looking at paying and what it's going to cost. http://www.taylormadeinspections.com/about
0 votes
Tammy Hayes, Agent, Port Charlotte, FL
Sat Nov 1, 2014
Depending on age of home, you may need more than one type of inspection. Home Inspection, mold inspection, termite inspection, 4 point inspection, wind mitigation. Contact a local Realtor and they can recommend some inspectors for you to call to discuss your needs and pricing.
0 votes
Linda Reji, Home Buyer, New York, NY
Sat Nov 1, 2014
For home inspection quote visit http://www.inspectiondepot.com
0 votes
Kayla Perez, Home Buyer, Tampa, FL
Mon Feb 24, 2014
I was part of an Anderson Home inspection. I will never recommend them to anyone. They were overpriced and the inspector was a know it all... Better priced quality inspectors out there. $200-300 is a fair price.
0 votes
Brent Sheldon, Agent, Greater Carrollwood, FL
Fri May 31, 2013
A good home inspector costs around $280.00 not including a wind mitagation inspection.
0 votes
NPI Inspector, , Tampa, FL
Thu Jun 16, 2011
We charge $375 up to 2600 square feet. Our price includes a pool and spa inspection, crawl space inspection, infrared inspection, and a 6 month mechanical warranty. We also work 7 days a week. Discounts for military, police, fireman and teachers. Discounts on wind mitigation and insurance inspections. Call us for our 30+ years experiance 813-973-2004 Florida License # HI 141 and insured.
National Property Inspections
Web Reference:  http://www.npiweb.com/tonte
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question

Email me when…

Learn more