Termite Inspection?

Asked by Shannon, Antioch, TN Sat Oct 13, 2012

Hello All,
I am considering purchasing a property that has been rehabbed. It looks very nice and the home inspection showed no evidence of termite damage. However, the termite inspection report that the seller had done shows a small area of the home (storage area attached to house) to have termite damage. The seller says they spent 3800.00 on termite and brown recluse treatment. My agent is waiting on the documentation to prove they had this treatment done. Is this a property I should stay away from as there could be an infestation or was one that caused damage that cant be seen?
any insight would be helpful
thanks

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

20
Veronicamark…, Home Buyer, Houston, TX
Tue Sep 15, 2015
You don't necessarily need to avoid buying the home. If all the documentation is obtained, like your agent is waiting to receive, and it shows everything is clear, you should be okay. Definitely make sure you have your own inspection done if it helps you feel more comfortable, though. Like a previous comment said, that way you know for sure it's being done right.
http://360wildlife.com/
0 votes
Conrad Hodgs…, Landlord,
Sat May 16, 2015
Hi Shannon, When the seller had the pest inspection done initially, the pest company doing the work would issue a "Clearance certificate" along with an invoice showing that the work was in fact done and all issues resolved. This normally would suffice.

Purchasing a home is a very important part of anyone's port folio holding and if you are asking this question you obviously still have concerns. That said, If I were you, I would order another inspection (A company you personally locate, not simply a referral from your agent, not that i'm suggesting you should not trust your agents recommendation, I'm simply saying that an independent inspection from a third part you personally contacted shall grant you the peace of mind you need and deserve. I always try to get my clients to choose their own company to inspect the property since there is no conflict of interest and never any ambiguity. I am sure your agent is honest and good at what he/she does but when you make that kind of investment a $75 inspection fee is way worth the it. Just my 2 cents. Good luck.
0 votes
garypuntman, , Los Angeles, CA
Thu May 14, 2015
There could still be an infestation. I don't know if you should necessarily stay away from purchasing the home though. If the damage from the termites isn't too bad, you can have the home repaired pretty easily. If it's not worth it to you though you should search for a different house to buy. http://www.promasters.com.au/termite-control
0 votes
Bradley Arno…, Agent, Milan, TN
Fri Apr 24, 2015
Wait for documentation, and make a judgement call from there. Has the dwelling part of the home been under a termite contract? Know all the facts, and make a clear conscious decision after gathering all the information you need. Personally, If I loved the home and it had no signs of damage or active termite activity, I wouldn't let a small amount of activity in a detached part of the property deter me from proceeding if I were comfortable that I had gathered all the facts and knew the extent of the damage to be minor. I would ask the seller to see if they might offer to treat at their cost, if this request did not conflict with any of the terms of the sales agreement.
0 votes
lewisremingt…, Home Owner, Rochester, NY
Tue Apr 21, 2015
I would check and see what the documentation can prove. If you really like the home, you can always fix the area in it that has termite damage. That way you can get rid of the problem, and get the house the way you want it.
http://pestcontrolidaho.com/residential-termite-management
0 votes
Will Johnson, Agent, Hendersonville, TN
Wed Mar 11, 2015
I think the documentation is the critical element here. My suggestion would be to wait on that, and if it doesn't go through, to negotiate the treatment into the home. Best of luck to you!
0 votes
Todd Schneid…, Agent, Northridge, CA
Mon Feb 23, 2015
I would wait for the documentation. If they have it great, if they don't then I would negotiate to have the current infestation taken care of. I don't know that I would walk away from a home you really like because of this particular issue. In the end it is up to you if the seller won't fix it. You can walk away or if it's not that expensive just take care of it yourself. Termites/spiders are common with most properties, and generally require yearly upkeep to keep them away.
0 votes
Caleb Hart, Renter, Orem, UT
Mon Feb 23, 2015
It seems like the documentation will say it all. If they are unable to produce the documents they promised you, then I would be very cautious. You can never be too careful when it comes to termites and brown recluse spiders. We have a big problem with both of those where I'm from. http://www.cairnspest.com.au/termite-inspections
0 votes
Calvin James, Home Buyer, Orem, UT
Fri Nov 14, 2014
As long as they provide you with the proper documentation then I would go for it! It also wouldn't be a bad idea to check out the house again in a few weeks and see if the termite damage has grown. The last thing you want is to have to pay for that yourself! Other than that though, it looks like you have yourself a good deal! http://pestcontrolidaho.com/residential-termite-management
0 votes
I agree with Calvin also, you should definitely go for it if they have the documentation. Usually termite control methods completely eradicate the problem. I would make sure that you get your home inspected in a couple of years from now though. You want to make sure that the problem doesn't come back. http://www.propest.com.au/index.php/27-home/welcome/22-termit-pest-control
Flag Thu Jan 8, 2015
I completely agree with Calvin. I would wait for the proper documentation. I wouldn't worry too much about it, but if there is a problem you should find out right away. I'm not sure termites is a good reason to say no to property. You can get rid of termites relatively easily if there is a problem. http://www.dependablepestcontrol.com.au/dependable-services.html
Flag Wed Dec 3, 2014
Mary Jane Pr…, Home Buyer, Provo, UT
Thu Oct 30, 2014
I think that you should go with which ever house you want. Even if the house does have termites they can be treated. I don't think that you should walk away from the home of your dreams just because it might have termites. There are so many professionals out there that can help you get rid of those pests in no time.

Mary Jane | http://www.mgpest.com.au/termites
0 votes
Gary Geer, Agent, Antioch, IL
Fri Oct 17, 2014
Shannon,
If you have any concerns you can put them to rest by hiring a new termite inspection yourself. The cost of having a professional who is working for you could be very small as compared to a potential issue. This should be independent of the sellers inspector if possible. Hope that helps.
0 votes
I was going to suggest the same thing. If you're worried about it, just have a company come out and check. There's no other way to feel completely confident that there are no termites on that property. And if there are, this will have saved you a lot of money in the long run. | http://www.bluebelltermite.com
Flag Mon Dec 22, 2014
fosterkicks99, , 78052
Fri Aug 29, 2014
Obtain the proof that the treatment was done. Then have a company you trust do a separate inspection. If they tell you it is clear, then go for it. Though if they deliver bad news, I'd move on to a new property.
Michael Foster http://www.icitermiteandpestcontrol.com/
0 votes
Davy Talley, Agent, Franklin, TN
Tue Oct 23, 2012
I would make sure that you get the receipt of where it had been treated before. I would then have the termite company come back out and reinspect the area to make sure all is good. If all is not good, have the seller retreat the area with the seller's funds.. If all is good, I would get termite insurance for at least a few years just in case they happen to come back. Good luck!
0 votes
Mike Grumbles, Agent, Franklin, TN
Mon Oct 22, 2012
Ask for the guarantee of the prior service to see if it is transferrable and if you can continue with them an annual inspection agreement,. You will find very few homes around Nashville with NO yermites or witness of them being around, so just protect your investmentmwith regulR inspections and treatmentsif needed. M

I recommend Arrow o Americare mto take a look if you need a referral.

Mi,e
0 votes
Leanna McKee, Agent, Hendersonville, TN
Mon Oct 15, 2012
I would have your own termite inspector check it out and give you an analysis. Termites are not uncommon and as long as the damage is properly repaired and the treatment for termites was completed, there's no reason not to move forward in my opinion.
Web Reference:  http://Leannamckee.com
0 votes
I agree with you, you should definitely get this inspected before buying the home. Termites can do a lot of damage to a home, and you want to get this problem eradicated before purchasing. There are a lot of companies that can take care of the problem for you though. You just have to shop around. http://www.huntingtonwvpestcontrol.com/index.html
Flag Thu Feb 12, 2015
I agree. If you really want peace of mind, then get your own termite inspection done. That way you can be sure that the paperwork is correct. If that's your only worry, though, then I'd move forward with the sale. | http://jha.com.au
Flag Sat Jan 31, 2015
steve condur…, Agent, 37215, TN
Mon Oct 15, 2012
Its not a matter of if you will ever have termites, its when. If the termite inspector indicates that structural work is needed, bring in a qualified contractor to determine the scope and cost. Then ask the seller to pay it. Most termite infestations I have seen through the years are minor and require only chemical treatment to kill them, not remedial repairs. Only a qualified contractor can tell you that.
Good luck, and keep any property you buy inspected on a yearly basis.

Steve Condurelis
Broker, co-founder,
Keller Williams Nashville
0 votes
Sharon Wayman, Agent, Nashville, TN
Sat Oct 13, 2012
I agree with Adam, if the home inspection shows any structural damage from the termites that has been repaired, and treated I wouldn't hesitate in living it either. There are a lot of great homes in Middle Tennessee that just have been neglected for one reason or another. Seller's that lost jobs, income, can't spend the money on repairs. It's a sad situation but hopefully the economy will improve those properties will be loved again and become homes. Good luck. S
0 votes
Adam Helton, Agent, Franklin, TN
Sat Oct 13, 2012
Termites and brown recluse spiders are actually pretty common in Middle TN, so as long as a licensed pest control company can provide documentation that the property has been treated, I would personally be comfortable with that. You'll probably still want to get an estimate on the previous termite damage though or ask the seller to have it repaired. Good luck!
0 votes
Peter Mohyls…, Agent, Destin, FL
Sat Oct 13, 2012
If the remediation was accomplished by a professional, there should be no problem,
0 votes
I was going to say the same thing. If you have the paperwork that shows the termites were taken care of, everything should be fine. Make sure you follow up the treatments, though. Termites can return if you're not careful. http://www.elitepestcontrol.com.au
Flag Wed Apr 22, 2015
Suzanne MacD…, Agent, Succasunna, NJ
Sat Oct 13, 2012
As long as the infestation was eliminated and the damage repaired there shouldn't be a problem. Talk to your agent, and your home inspector to see what they think, we find termintes and other wood destroying insects all the time. You just need to get rid of the insects and repair any damage if necessary, then be diligent going forward to make sure the bugs don't return.
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question

Email me when…

Learn more