Should I get a home inspection in Minneapolis, MN?

Asked by Peter, Saint Paul, MN Wed Apr 2, 2008

Minneapolis, MN requires a Truth In Housing inspection for every home sold, should this take the place of a home inspection? Should I get an indpendant home inspection in addition to the Truth In Housing inspection>

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

13
Todd Norsted, Agent, Maple Grove, MN
Mon Apr 7, 2008
Peter......of course! I could give you a million reasons why you should get a complete home inspection, yet can't think of one reason why you shouldn't!

Please invest the paultry sum and get it done!

Thanks, Todd
Web Reference:  http://www.toddnorsted.com
1 vote
Annie and Bob…, Agent, Edina, MN
Sun Apr 6, 2008
YES!!! If you don't know the differernce between the two...you may be in for a world of hurt.
1 vote
Realestateop…, , 55120
Wed Apr 2, 2008
The City of Minneapolis requires homes to have a completed Truth-in-Housing report as a part of the selling process. A buyer’s home inspection is optional and if done is at the buyer’s expense. Would I recommend having one, Yes! A buyer’s inspection helps in the following areas: 1) Peace of mind; 2) Buyer could renegotiate with Seller if an issue arose; 3) The sale is subject to an acceptable inspection; 4) It is an education tool for the buyer. I strongly recommend that the buyer attend the latter half of the inspection on site with the inspector.
1 vote
Lenny Frolov, Agent, Brooklyn Park, MN
Wed Apr 2, 2008
The truth in housing report only addresses certain items that the city deems important. You want to get your own inspection from a reputable inspector to insure they look for problems that are important to you and may help you negotaite a lower price.
Web Reference:  http://www.lennyfrolov.com
1 vote
Alicia Garat…, Agent, Minneapolis, MN
Wed Apr 2, 2008
Peter -

The Truth in Housing inspection is required by the city before any home can transfer ownership. It's intent to to verify the condition of key items within the home. It provides a lot of information and you should review the Truth in Housing carefully.

However, the Truth in Housing report is not the same as an inspection. An inspector will do a more comprehensive review of the home and is really worth the money. Your agent should be able to recommend a couple of inspectors for you to speak with.

Good luck.

Alicia
1 vote
Karen Wenzel,…, Agent, Brookfield, WI
Wed Apr 2, 2008
Peter,
I would always advise a Buyer to hire a licensed home inspector to do a complete inspection of the property on your behalf.
It is a small price to pay for the information you may uncover. I'm sure the "truth-in-housing" inspection will be helpful, but most likely it won't be as comprehensive as a normal home inspection.

Ask your Realtor or friends who have had home inspectors recently to get their recommendations for inspectors names. Talk to several to find one you feel comfortable with. Plus, the inspector will give you a report that you can keep. Now you will have a starting point that you can refer to, and when you sell the property in the future you know what condition the property was in when you purchased it. Make notations of any improvements or updates you make during your home-ownership.

All the Best to You!
Web Reference:  http://www.GoPackerUp.com
1 vote
Ben Goheen, Agent, Saint Paul, MN
Wed Apr 2, 2008
Hi Peter,
You should absolutely get a home inspection. While the truth in housing report covers many aspects of a home, an inspection is more in-depth. Not being an inspector I'm not exactly sure about the exact differences. I do know that I've seen truth in housing reports done in less then 30 minutes where most home inspectors will take several hours. Hope this helps!
Web Reference:  http://www.thegoheens.com
1 vote
Todd Norsted, Agent, Maple Grove, MN
Fri Jun 13, 2008
Peter, my recommendation would be...yes, do have a home inspection done in addition to the Truth in Housing Ispection that the Seller would have to have done. It's more thorough and for the small amount of money usually involved, It'd better to have two sets of eyes looking at the property than one.

Good Luck, Todd Norsted
Web Reference:  http://www.toddnorsted.com
0 votes
Mary Leizing…, Agent, Eden Prairie, MN
Thu Jun 12, 2008
Minneapolis expanded their Truth in Housing inspection program about a year ago so it is more detailed than in the past. However, it is not as comprehensive as a buyer's inspection. Given the older age of most homes in Minneapolis, I would recommend opting for the buyer's inspection. However, if you are looking at a new construction condo that you feel pretty good about, the decision may be more of a toss-up. I would suggest you give a call to a couple of the inspection firms that do the Truth in Housing for Minneapolis, (you can find a list with phone numbers on the city's web site http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/ )

Ask them what the difference is between their buyer's inspection and the Truth in Housing inspection and then make a decision as to whether or not you think it would be worth the cost in your case.

Best wishes.
Web Reference:  http://www.MaryLeizinger.com
0 votes
Steveandjoan, Home Buyer, St.Peterrsburg, FL
Sat Apr 5, 2008
Only if the home is located there.
0 votes
Inspector Ge…, , Chicago, IL
Fri Apr 4, 2008
A truth in housing report is the baseline, self report of known defects. The operative word is "known". Ignorance is bliss. A home inspector should take at least 2-3 hours to thoroughly inspect every system in the home and issues a written report that can be used in the negotiation. I personally conduct 100's of inspections a year and consistently find health, safety, and other items that are not listed on the typical disclosure form. Have the home inspected, it is money well spent!
Web Reference:  http://www.inspexpro.com/
0 votes
Christine Wr…, , 55038
Thu Apr 3, 2008
You can do either. Most inspectors do not carry a state license. I have used the same inspector to do the inspection that did the truth in housing saving the buyer a couple hundred dollars. In some cases the water was shut off ect. So the inspection wasn't complete. They do a full report of course not all are as good as others. I think the truth in housing inspectors do a great job and will continue to recommend them in the future. You should really ask your agent.
Good Luck!
0 votes
Glenda Marks, , Charlotte, NC
Wed Apr 2, 2008
The Truth in Housing report is more like a disclosure report. I would definitely get an independent home inspector, who is working for your best interests, to take a look at the home. The expense is well worth it if something requiring $$$$$$$ repairs shows up.
Web Reference:  http://www.queencitygal.com
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question

Email me when…

Learn more