Can you get a house inspection report on a home you are interested in buying?

Asked by Cj, Fayetteville, GA Thu Aug 4, 2011

Help the community by answering this question:

+ web reference
Web reference:

Answers

8
Melissa Step…, Agent, Atlanta, GA
Thu Aug 4, 2011
Hi CJ,

Yes! I just attended a home inspection with my buyer today so it's funny you asked this. You can get a home inspection on any home you plan on purchasing, however, be sure you have what is called a "due diligence" period in your contract. It's pretty standard in GA, especially in Fayetteville and the Metro Atlanta area. This period is what will allow you to cancel the contract if you find issues you dislike after having the property inspected. As long as you have a "due diligence" period, you can negotiate further based on your finding (for example, asking the seller to lower the price, repair things, etc) or you can simply cancel the contract without any penalties. This period is typically 7-14 days depending on what is negotiated with the seller.

I will give you just a bit more info and tell you that almost all sales in this are give you this right, including foreclosures, however, there have been some foreclosures that require you to do any inspections up front before placing the house under contract. I hate when it's one of these situations and they are rare, but every once in a while one pops up like this in our market.

If you need help finding a home, we're happy to help you. You are definitely within my market.

Thanks!
Melissa Stephens
The Stephens & Stephens Group
Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Metro Brokers
404-843-2500 Office
678-776-1895 Cell
800-383-0430 Fax
http://www.StephensandStephens.net - Website

Comment on our blog: http://www.TheScoopinRealEstate.com
1 vote
Christian Sw…, Agent, Peachtree City, GA
Sun Sep 18, 2011
Hi,
You can have a contractor inspect the house before you make an offer. They will be able to give you an idea of what it will cost.

Once you are in your due diligence period you are able to conduct any and all inspections you need, including, HVAC, septic and well, and any other general home inspection, etc. All the costs are your responsibility as the buyer.
Let me know if I can help you in any way.

Christian Swann
Keller Williams Atlanta Partners
http://www.premierluxuryhouses.com
813-546-4433
0 votes
Andy Joiner, Agent, Atlanta, GA
Fri Aug 12, 2011
CJ,

Are you asking if you can get a copy of an inspection report that's already been done on a property? If so, the answer is sometimes. If you're asking whether or not you can get a home inspection on a foreclosure, the answer is usually. The banks will typically give you 7 days to inspect a property after you come to terms with the bank on price and concessions. I hope this answers your question(s).

Take care!

Andy Joiner
ERA Sunrise
678-858-6115
0 votes
Jack Gillis, Agent, Dallas, TX
Fri Aug 5, 2011
Yes, after you have it under contract, provided you negotiate an inspection period into your contract.

Jack Gillis, M.B.A., J.D.
Jack Gillis Realty Advisors
Nathan Grace Real Estate, Broker
5619 Dyer Street | Suite 100
Dallas, TX 75206
Cell: 214.718.4910
Email: Jack@JackGillisRealty.com
0 votes
Lee Taylor, Agent, Decatur, GA
Fri Aug 5, 2011
Of course, inspect, test, and survey whenever, and do it based on whatever is your critical purchasing criteria.

Now, the terms of whatever you intend to buy, are in a sort of imbalanced / counterbalanced state at any given time, depending on who is dictating the terms and depending on how much you are insisting on things...and, depending on when you do what you do as a duly diligent purchaser.

Sounds like you could use some help with sequencing...
0 votes
Dorrie Love, Agent, Peachtree City, GA
Fri Aug 5, 2011
CJ,

You can always have a trusted contractor "look over" the house before you make an offer. They will be able to give some idea of what you might have to spend to get the home ready for move in.
It is important that you don't perform any formal inspections until you have a binding contract on the property and all utilities are on. Once you are in your due diligence period you are able to conduct any and all inspections you need, including, HVAC, septic and well (if applicable), and general home inspection, etc. All the costs are your responsibility as the buyer.
Foreclosures can be great buying opportunities, but you have to be thorough in your research. If I can help you in any way, please let me know!

Dorrie Marsh,
Harry Norman, Realtors
120 Peachtree East Shopping Center
Peachtree City, GA 30269
cell: 404-513-0976
office: 770-632-4815
Web Reference:  http://www.dorriemarsh.com
0 votes
Rodney Mason, Mortgage Broker Or Lender, Atlanta, GA
Fri Aug 5, 2011
Once you have a property under contract, you can have yur home inspection completed at that time. If it is a foreclosure, then you may have to wait until the utilities are all turned on.

Regards,
Rodney Mason, NMLS #151088
Sr Loan Officer
Prospect Mortgage
825 Juniper St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Office: (404) 591-2453
rodney.mason@prospectmtg.com
Apply Online at http://www.rodneymason.com
Licensed in Alabama & Georgia

Conventional | FHA | FHA 203K Renovation (Streamline & Consultant) | HomePath® |
HomePath® Renovation | VA | USDA | GA Dream
Web Reference:  http://www.rodneymason.com
0 votes
Leah Henders…, , Columbia, SC
Thu Aug 4, 2011
This is an interesting issue. I understand your position. But it really isn't the best way to approach home-buying even a foreclosure. You really want to make an offer, get the offer accepted, then get an inspection. Without a ratified contract you don't have any right to perform an inspection and liability issues arise. Additionally, what if while you are arranging an inspection another buyer makes an offer that is accepted.?

Why don't you put the house under contract before moving forward with an inspection?

Buying foreclosures isn't easy but can be worth it. Especially when you do your due diligence.

Best of luck!


Leah Henderson, Realtor
Columbia, SC
803-566-0023
0 votes
Search Advice
Search
Ask our community a question
Foreclosure in Fayetteville Zip Codes

Email me when…

Learn more