Home Buying in New Jersey>Question Details

Renter Soon…, Home Buyer in New Jersey

If we are renting without a lease and the landlord says she has a buyer and gives us 30 days to vacate, can

Asked by Renter Soon To Be A Buyer, New Jersey Tue Mar 25, 2008

we exceed the 30 days lawfully?

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

4
I sell real estate in California and know the California Tenancy Laws. Please check your local ordinances governed by city and/or county you reside in. You should also contact appropriate counsel to determine how such ordinances affect the questions and answers provided herein.

However, in California for example, a tenant shall be provided a 30 notice to vacate if the tenant has resided in the unit less than one year and a 60 day notice shall be provided in the event the tenant has resided in the unit for more than one year when governed by a month-to-month tenancy agreement.

But even in California the 60 day requirement for a tenancy of more than one year has been repealed to a 30 day notice once again. Now if you had a lease for a specific term you would not be lawfully asked to vacate the premises until the termination of said lease unless you breached the lease agreement in some way or the landlord included a clause to be used specifically in the event of a sale of the premises.

Hope I helped a little. Good luck.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Tue Mar 25, 2008
If you have no lease in NJ then you are on a month-month residency. That means that either party the landlord or the tenant can give 30 days notice to vacate. If you would like a copy of the NJ landlord/tenant law handbook, email me through Trulia or my website and I'll send one out to you.
I am not an attorney, but I do own a few rental properties. The landlord would have to go to an eviction hearing to get you out, which doesn't take very long.
Web Reference: http://www.dianeglander.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 16, 2008
You definitely need to check with a lawyer, b ut if you're ona month-to-month (which I will presume you are and you pay your rent on a monthly basis) NJ law requires only a 30 day notice. But I can't comment on what legal recourse you have or your landlord has if you stay longer then the 30 days. Check with a lawyer to find out what your legal exposure is.
Web Reference: http://www.terryi.com/
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Mar 25, 2008
You need to call a lawyer and ask that question. Another source would be your Office of Fair Housing in your county. Without a lease, your options may be different than someone with a signed lease.

Good Luck.
Sharon Kozinn
Web Reference: http://www.sharonkozinn.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Mar 25, 2008
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer