This is an excellent question for a Landlord/Tenant Rights Attorney or your property manager. If you have one, ask them.
I will give you my experience on this matter, however, I caution you that laws change regularly and some cities have laws that are different from the state laws (and I sold my last California residential rental unit right before the market started to crash about two years ago). You are best served by speaking with an attorney or property management firm that specializes in your area.
I follow the terms for notice to vacate in the rental agreement and the laws in the state of California for notice to vacate. The last time I had to serve such a notice, California law required a 30 day notice for tenancy under one year and a 60 day notice for tenancy of one year and over. I then met with the tenant and did a move out walk through and sent them their deposit, less any justifiable withholdings substantiated by actual receipts, within 7 days. No fuss, no muss as they used to say. Hope this helps and Dare to Dream.
Real Estate Consultant
RE/MAX Palos Verdes Realty
Have a great day,
Heather Paul, Realtor