Rental Basics in 92130>Question Details

Victoria Joh…, Both Buyer and Seller in 92130

How do you file a complaint against a property manager for failure to return the damage deposit within the 21 days required by CA law?

Asked by Victoria Johnson, 92130 Wed Jun 29, 2011

a dba company acting as agent for the owner of a single family home failed to return the damage deposit within the 21 day law required by CA law, instead he filed a claim in CIVIL court so he wouldn't have to go to Small Claims Court. Is there any regulatory agency to report this matter to.

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

7
Call the Bar Association in your county and get a free consultation with an experienced attorney that practices landlord/tenant. Also go to your nearest law library and ask for help.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Apr 7, 2014
Call the Bar Association in your county and get a free consultation with an experienced attorney that practices landlord/tenant. Also go to your nearest law library and ask for help.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Apr 7, 2014
Seems you have damages that the deposit is being used to repair, complaint can be made after you win in court, If you don't win then your claim is useless!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 8, 2011
try the BBB better business bureau

the small claims court cost $200-$300 i think.

Good luck and may God bless
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 8, 2011
For any compliant against a real estate agent you can file with
1) local association of realtor where he or she is a member. You can usually check the membership at the website
2) with CA DRE

However before you file the compliant, I think your primary goal is to get your deposit back. It's better to start discussing with the agent and owner first.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 1, 2011
Generally speaking, it should be the licensing agency that handles all real estate licensees & brokers, property management firms, etc. In Texas, it's called the Texas Real Estate Commission.

I assume it's something similar in CA? I'm sure someone will post about it soon.

Sorry to hear of your troubles.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 29, 2011
What was the reason he filed a claim against you? This might explain why he failed to return your damage deposit in a timely manner. If the judge sides with your former landlord, filing a complaint would be a moot point.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 29, 2011
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer