Home Selling in San Jose>Question Details

Home Owner, Home Owner in San Jose, CA

Is it better to get a property inspection done prior to listing our home for sale even if the house is less than 15 years old?

Asked by Home Owner, San Jose, CA Wed May 2, 2012

Also, the buyer will probably do their own. Our property has no known defects or problems that I am aware of as of now. So I was wondering whether it is worth it to spend this extra expense to get a property inspection.

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

18
The more you provide information on your home, which is only 15 years old
the better the price you will get in this market.

You can always ask for an offer then with no Property Inspection contingency
provided the inspection is done by a reputable company and shows no issues.

http://www.trulia.com/blog/perry_mistry/2012/05/san_jose_cal…

It is a sellers market right now.

Hence, one can expect a Short to No property inspection contingency if you were a seller
and a high price with multiple offerss, and an Attractive Loan contingency period from the
buyer.

Good luck.

Perry

http://www.ruthandperry.com/
1 vote Thank Flag Link Fri May 4, 2012
Definitely get your home inspected. Make sure to hire a well known and respected inspector to produce the report. Knowing what you are selling will put you in the most powerful negotiation position possible and will prevent buyers from coming back for additional price reductions at the time of removal of contingencies.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Thu May 3, 2012
Surprises are best handled BEFORE there's a contract involved. What might have been a small deal to a buyer before they write a contract suddenly becomes a huge deal once you're in contract. At that point expectations have been set in both yours and the buyers' minds about what you're paying/netting in the transaction. Buyers have time to come to terms with, and rationalize, any issues with the house before they make an offer. Once they're in contract they're already emotional and less likely to make reasonable decisions (as are you).

You might be right, your home may not have any issues (although 15 years is a long time and even brand new houses have issues) but wouldn't it be great to be able to show your buyers that up front so they know that this is a house worth fighting for? Especially right now with the multiple offers we're experiencing in this area.

A small price to pay for a successful transaction in my experience.

Best of luck!

Gail
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
In the San Jose area, most buyers will accept the inspections performed by the seller if the inspections are done by a reputable and impartial third party. The best part of getting those inspections in advance, you are in the driver's seat. You have the advantage of eliminating the majority if not all of the items a buyer may use to try and justify a lower sales prices.

All the best,
April

April Tavares, GRI
DRE License #01742179
Santa Clara County Market Reports: http://april.rereport.com
http://www.AprilTavares.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Well you have a general consenus from us agents that it is a good idea and it is. The more you give a complete package to a buyer, the better the chances are you will get a good price and have a smoother transaction. Basically in home selling and in home buying you do not want SURPRISES!!! you want everthing known or handled that way everyone is happy.
Feel free to contact me with any questions.
At your service,
Allyson
408-705-6578
allyson@homesbyallyson.com
Certified Distressed Property Expert
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
I will always have an informed conversation about this issue with my sellers to discuss the merits of doing inspections when listing their home or waiting for the buyer to do it. I like having the inspections done by the seller so that we have an accurate picture of any issues that might come up with the buyer or the lender. Having that knowledge is a very valuable tool when considering buyers offers for your home. It can really help during negations. If a property if going to be a short sale or possible proceed to a foreclosure then we most likely will take a different approach but again we will discuss it fully.
You have received some very good advice here from all of the Agents and your next step when you are ready is to choose a good Realtor to assist you with your sale.

Good Luck

Jim Guido,
Realtor
Realty World/Blue Property Group
Cell: 408-472-2074
Email: jim@jimguidorealtor.com
Website: http://www.jimguidorealtor.com
DRE# 00700635
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Property/ home inspection, termite, chimney and roof inspections should be done by the seller prior to putting the home on thr open market. Your cost will be in the $800-900 range.

Jim Mauldwin
Intero Real Estate Services
408-863-3020
DRE # 01125380 since 1991
Web Reference: http://jimmauldwin.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
I recommend that the sellers do their own inspections and make those inspections available to all potential buyers before they make their offer even if the home is relatively new.

the primary reson for seller inspections inmy opinion is to document the current condition of the home and make any necessary repairs before putting your home on the market.

Buyers tend to anticipate the worst and often overestimate the amount of repairs required and overestimate the cost of repairs and reduce their offers accordingly.

Also the segemnt of the market that will pay you the most money, wants a home that does not need repairs, and that they can just move in without worrying about repairs.

When you as the seller get your own inspection reports and make any necessary repairs beforehand you will get a much better response from potential buyers and you will get more and better offers.

Thank you,
Charles Butterfield MBA
Real Estate Broker/REALTOR
American Realty
Cell Phone: (408)509-6218
Fax: (408)269-3597
Email Address: charlesbutterfieldbkr@yahoo.com
DRE#00901872
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
15 years is a long time Home Owner. Termites can do a lot of damage behind the sheetrock and under the crawl space.

The reason why sellers do inspections is to eliminate the unknown factor. Unknown surprises can be deadly in real estate transactions. It is always better as a seller to know all of the facts and leave nothing to surprises.

Read the post below about why doing inspections is so important.

http://activerain.com/blogsview/3201384/what-is-the-1-concer…

Best of luck and let me know if you have further questions.


Steve Mun Group
http://www.stevemungroup.com
650-605-3188
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
I suggest you do the inspections. Then you and your realtor can go over the results and determine if making the repairs before offering for sale will increase value enough to justify the costs. Also, making the repairs may reduce hassle and lowering of final return from sale as mentioned in previous posts as seller credits to buyer to cover the fixes.

If you elect to make repairs, make sure they are done professionally or the value of eh repair will be negligible. You don's want the repairs to be "mickey mouse" type repairs in the eyes of the buyer. That would tend to create a situation of mis-trust in the buyer's eyes.

Mitchell Pearce
408-639-0211
mitchell@handsonrealtor.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
I recommend it because it takes the unknown condition out of the negations and gives control to you the Seller.

I had a seller with a two year old home. They didn't want to do an inspection so the buyer did. It turned out that the Builder did not have enough gas line on the attic furnace and this was a $900 fix. Had the seller known that before they could have had it fixed for less, contacted the builder to see if they would correct it (but it was now out of one year warranty) or have the buyer accept this condition during the contract negotiation.

In 15 years you could have leaks, termites or other conditions which you don't know of because most people don't go crawling around under their own home or in the attic. The inspection also further's your required disclosures to the buyer.

I believe it is worth it's cost.

Have an amazing day!
Web Reference: http://www.terrivellios.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Hi Home Owner and thanks for your post.

As Lance noted below, yes, it is likely that the buyer might also want to pay for a termite report and home inspection prior to purchasing the home, and, then again, maybe not. These days, lenders are asking buyers for copies of the home inspection and termite reports that they purchase and are requiring that repairs be made before the loan can fund. As a result, I'm finding more and more buyers are accepting the reports that the seller provides rather than create problems with additional inspections. So this is another good reason to get those reports done prior to selling the home.

The other aspect, and one that Lance has already mentioned, is that in knowing that the home is truly "problem free" allows you to represent this to the buyer and price your home accordingly. I will have to say, however, that 15 years is a long time, and while it may seem that the home is too "new" to you to have developed problems, don't be surprised to find some issues noted on both the termite and the home inspection reports. You can either fix these yourself or allow for the repairs to be completed by the buyer and price your home to accommodate the cost of those repairs.

Good luck! And if you're looking for a Realtor to assist in the sale, give me a call!

Sincerely,
Grace Morioka
Area Pro Realty-People's Choice

Rebates to buyers, listings for 1.5%
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Please don't waste the money;
the buyers probably will not accept your inspections any way.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Most buyers are going to want to do their own contractor's inspection, so one could argue why do it. However, if you have your own prior to listing and discover issues you can include with disclosures and make your offer price reflective of that reality to avoid credit requests later. You should do a pest report because they put a dollar amount on those, and again, if there is a significant amount you can either do repairs or price accordingly.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Quoting the question: "Our property has no known defects or problems that I am aware of as of now". An inspection will help you find the defects you don't know about. If the buyer will find them during the contingency period, the buyer will have grounds to re-negotiate the price. It is way better to know what you are selling and be able to go into the contract negotiations with full confidence in your property.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat May 5, 2012
More and more buyers are now doing pre-listing inspections and for good reason. I am a home inspector in San Diego and over the past few months we are getting more requests from sellers looking to get their homes pre-inspected for the reasons already mentioned in this post. Our "move-in certified" program targeted to sellers sends a strong message to a buyer that the major systems of the home are serviceable and that there are no major defects.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri May 4, 2012
I think it is a good idea to do a property inspection and a termite/pest inspection to discover potential problems. Goal here should be to discover items that can create a problem with a buyer. Specially with pest inspection, even a 15 year old house can (chances are that it does) have termites as well as dry rot. This is normally referred to as section 1 repairs. It is common in today's environment for the buyer's lender to require a section 1 clearance. This gives you the opportunity to do most repairs before putting the house on the market. Please note that even if you get section 1 work done based on your inspection, it is still possible for the buyer's inspector to find additional items that may still need to be addressed. Finally, please ensure that when these reports are provided to the buyers (if you have inspections, you have to provide copies to the buyer), you clearly state that these are for information purpose only and buyer to conduct their own inspections. This is to mitigate your risk. if you ask the buyers to accept your reports instead of buyers doing their inspections, and they discover somthing big after the purchase that your inspector missed, you could potentially be held liable (Also, I am not an attorney, you may want to check with your attorney on this). My answer here is not all inclusive. There is a lot more involved and you should discuss this matter with the Realtor that you decide to work with.
Web Reference: http://www.esjn.net
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Great question. It does cost some money but the main advantage to you having one done as a seller, is that it tells you what to expect. There may be things that are good to get fixed ahead of time.

If you don't do it, don't worry - most sellers don't. Buyers will inevitably do their own, as you said.

Do a thorough job of cleaning and de-cluttering. Those are the two most important things you can do. Go through the house room by room and see if anything needs repair. These preventive measures should likely be good enough to start with.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed May 2, 2012
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer