Home Selling in 07040>Question Details

- Robert Nor…, Real Estate Pro in 07040

In your opinion, what is the best website to market real estate?

Asked by - Robert Northfield -, 07040 Fri Mar 5, 2010

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

12
BEST ANSWER
Hi.

As it pertains to what I believe the most important sites to maintain a presence:

1) Realtor.com
2) Trulia
3) Cyberhomes
4) Zillow

My opinon on where to post: There is no reason to NOT put a seller’s listing everywhere if you use direct data feeds (XML from your server) and syndication services (postlets, P2, etc.)

I am careful about how I use FB or Twitter with listings. It can be considered spammy and could cause follower to disengage. I believe it is better to maintain engagement and let followers go to the listings vs. a cram down approach. FB Marketplace excepted.

Deborah “Deb” Madey
Peninsula Realty Group
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 6, 2010
Deborah Madey, Real Estate Pro in Red Bank, NJ
MVP'08
Contact
Robert, According to NAR statistics, internet search, which a most dominating tool being used by "today's" buyers, is still spread across a signficant number of sites. One of the reasons I joined Keller Williams is because of its technology team and its coverage on the interet. That being said, I am of the opinion that the National statistics don't reflect our region's actual coverage. I would, therefore, say that Realtor.com, Zillow and Trulia are the dominant players in our marketplace and that NYT.com plays an important role. Thank you for your question.
Best,
Mark Slade
917.797.5059
markflw@aol.com
http://www.goodhomesforgoodpeople.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 6, 2010
http://www.realtor.com it shows about the same mls as the realtors use.

I also like http://www.unitedcountry.com just because it allows you to search by the whole country, a region, state, or their office locations. I can input I want 80 acres with 3 bedrooms for under $200k and find one somewhere in this country.

If realtor.com would change their interface from being flash based with all kinds of moving pictures and ads it would be a huge improvement. I now only use it for daily updates. I wish realtor.com would also allow a search by state or other area beyond just a city area.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Fri Mar 5, 2010
As it pertains to our local market we feel: http://www.trulia.com http://www.zillow.com http://www.homes.com http://www.Homesteadnet.com http://www.Rochesterhomelocator.com (our site that we have organically placed in the top of local search engines terms on google.com, this site is responsible for selling a lot of our listings!!!)
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jan 14, 2011
Realtor is rated number 1 for time spent on the site by visiting home buyers. For the same statistic Zillow is number 2 and Trulia number 3. This is why you are getting those responses. HOWEVER... surprisingly Craigslist according to some other statistics is the #1 used website for real estate.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Mar 24, 2010
Thank you all for responding. I see that most votes go to Realtor.com, Trulia, and Zillow. Have a great Spring selling season everyone.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Mar 24, 2010
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 11, 2010
I still go for Realtor.com, then Trulia. Also homes.com has been pretty good through my website provider.
Web Reference: http://www.dianeglander.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 11, 2010
@Mark Slade:

"Realtor.com, Zillow and Trulia are the dominant players in our marketplace"

Correct – same in our market.

However, we also use a number of additional services that plaster our content everywhere. http://www.postlets.com is one such example. In addition, if you use services such as http://www.ePropertySites.com , they will also link your listings everywhere under the sun. Buyers search in so many different places, you really need to get the absolute best coverage possible.

Here are a couple of examples:
http://www.34233trampiniCmn.com
http://www.38580goodrich.com

We also post to Facebook and Twitter.
.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 6, 2010
I hear Realtor.com has the largest followers.. but I see more and more buyers on Trulia, Zillow, Craigslist, even Facebook Marketplace which is powered by oodle.. I posted a few listings on Facebook market place and have had over 20 people inquire or approach me for real estate advice since!
Our local MLS just partnered with Point2Agent, which seems to have gotten our MLS lisyings synced out to a wide majority of the top consumer websites. I go to post them on these sites and already fnd them there! Automatically syncs them out ! Maybe your board has done the same, or will?
You can view their syndication partners here http://agent.point2.com/features/syndication.asp
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 6, 2010
Besides the MLS and Realtor.com I always make sure my listings are uploaded to the follwoing sites:
Craigslist
Backpage
Zillow
Trulia
Cyberhomes
oodle
Web Reference: http://www.sjrates.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 6, 2010
TRULIA!! I've had 45 hits on a property that has been listed for less than a week...amazing...

Also Craigslist seems to work well, or you could always offer to auction the property on ebay, I'm a Certified Ebay Real Estate Trader, but that's not for the faint of heart.

I think the best advertising is word of mouth, and networking on as many social sights as possible and tell everyone everywhere when you have anything available. It seems alot of agents wait for people to come to them, but in my opinion going into some real estate offices is like going to buy a car. You're not sure what to expect, and then the slimiest agent always seems to get dibs on you...lol J/K

Especially for a woman, contacting an agent after being able to check out the property somewhere else first, whether it be here, or on a real estate businesses webpage gives you more confidence because you know what you want.

My husbands' business partner however is convinced that real estate marketing via internet doesn't work, but the 16 people who checked out his property listings this week, were probably the same 16 people who saw the link on my profile page! I'll be interested to see the responses to this...great question!!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Mar 5, 2010
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2014 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer