Home Buying in Hazleton>Question Details

Phyl, Home Buyer in Hazleton, PA

what inspection do I need to have when purchasing a home. I am a first time home buyer

Asked by Phyl, Hazleton, PA Fri Feb 11, 2011

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

7
Most of your answers are spot on, just one correction. If the appraisal shows you have a well and septic system, I know of NO mortgage lenders that will approve the loan WITHOUT a well and septic certification, nor do I know many jurisdictions that will allow the new Deed without it either, including PA.
Jim, HSOA
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Feb 12, 2011
Hello Phyl,
Along with the other inspection items that have been mentioned to you on other posts; you may want to test for Radon which is a toxic gas that is emitted from ledge rock in the ground. It can be present in the air in lower level areas of the home as well as in the water. A good inspector will perform this test for you for around $100.
Here's a link to more info on it: http://www.epa.gov/radon/

Hope this is helpful and best of luck on your home purchase!

Laura Feghali
Prudential Connecticut Realty
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 11, 2011
Dear Phyl

My suggestion is that your first step is to connect with a local Realtor. He/she can guide you with setting up the rest of your "team" - which will include a reputable home inspector. That home inspector can effectively answer all of your questions and when the time comes for the home inspection to be done you should be able to be there and the inspector can point out any issues which will be included in his/her report.

Best Regards.
Maureen
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 11, 2011
Phyl;
You need a structure, mold, and pest (WDO) inspection.
HIre a professional inspector in your area.
Don't know one? Ask your Real Estate Agent for a few recommendations of the best inspectors out there.
Web Reference: http://www.321property.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 11, 2011
Hello Phyl,

if you are getting a mortgage the only one that is required is an appraisal.
A home inspection, well and septic inspection are recommended but not required. However your Realtor will be able to make recommendations as to what you should do to protect yourself.

Best Regards,
Alan Openshaw
Cornerstone Lending Inc
720 Second St Pike Suite 104
Southampton Pa 18966
Office 215 953 0800
Fax 215 953 1706
Cell 267 992 7276
Voted Best of Bucks 2010
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 11, 2011
Inspections vary depending on your type of loan and the lender you have. For a home inspection the following are usually covered in one shot or you can do portions ..
Home Exterior:
• Roofing
• Siding
• Leader & Gutters
• Windows
• Doors
• Caulking/Glazing
Home Structure:
• Foundation
• Framing System
• Basement/Crawl Space
• Attic
• Water Seepage
• Ventilation
• Insulation
• Chimney
• Garage, etc.
Home Interior:
• Walls
• Floors
• Ceilings
• Doors, etc.
• Cosmetics
• Environmental or Health Hazards
Home Mechanical Systems:
• Plumbing System and Fixtures
• Electrical Service (Wiring, Fixtures, and Outlets)
• Heating and Air Conditioning Equipment
In addition, there is a radon gas inspection and/or pest inspection.
Fees vary - not only for inspections having done but also contractors hired to do the inspections. I usually offer my clients three inspectors' information along with their fees and with the services to be provided.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 11, 2011
Phyl,

The types of inspections available are: structural, well testing, septic inspection, WDO(termite inspection), pool, HVAC, etc.

We recommend arranging for a general structural inspection that will pretty much cover the home itself. roof, windows, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, appliances, asbestos, etc. It may be helpful to mention any concerns you have to the inspector, prior to commiting to any service.

Since there can be a very wide variety of areas that could be covered, it would be important to discuss the extent of the inspection with the service provider before hand. We recommend an inspector that does a structural inspection and a pest inspection for one fee.

Good luck,

Bill
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 11, 2011
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer