Home Buying in Wever>Question Details

Mommaszoo, Home Buyer in Fort Madison, IA

can the buyer be present during a home inspection?

Asked by Mommaszoo, Fort Madison, IA Thu Aug 25, 2011

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

9
Absolutely! I highly encourage my buyers to be there during the inspection, this allows the buyer to get better acquainted with the property and gives the inspector a chance to explain which items are "big" and which aren't so critical.

Brandi Nelson, Realtor
Century 21 Signature Real Estate Ames, IA
515-291-0914 http://www.brandinelson.com
Each office independently owned & operated.
Licensed salesperson in the State of Iowa
1 vote Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
Yes.. the buyers should be present during a home inspection especially if you are a first time buyer. You have to gain the knowledge on maintaining and protecting your greatest investment. There are numerous elements that make an abode a home. Like for instance plumbing, electrical and mechanical like heating and ventilation, etc.

At least when a problem arises, which eventually will, you know how to approach the issue and not panic about it.

Learning the basics is necessary in home ownership.

Maria
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Sep 15, 2011
They not only "can" be, they "should" be, if at all possible.

The home inspector will show you lots of interesting things about your potential home, that you would want to see. They'll identify the main water shut-off valve, how to change the filter on your furnace, show you where the fuse box is, and answer any questions you might have.

Yes, your agent could attend in your place, but I strongly encourage the buyers to attend to see everything firsthand.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
Alan May, Real Estate Pro in 60201
MVP'08
Contact
Hi Mommaszoo,

Yes, and they should be. If they are there, the inspector can show them any 'issues' which will make items much more clear to the buyer(s) than reading it on a report.

Shanna Rogers
SR Realty
http://www.RealtyBySR.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
I go to every Inspection and I encourage my Cliets to be there too:

It is educational and critical.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
It is the best thing to be present during your home inspection! That way you can talk to the inspector about what any issues are. Plus it won't be so confusing when you see their report! A good home inspector can also educate you on what things require maintence yearly to properly extend the life of things such as siding, and furnace, and etc. Good luck on your process of your home purchase!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
Absolutely! You don't need to be there, your Agent can represent you but if you want to be there, no problem!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
Can be? Should be! The buyer absolutely should be there. Preferably with your agent.

The seller preferably should NOT be present.

Hope that helps.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
Don Tepper, Real Estate Pro in Fairfax, VA
MVP'08
Contact
Mommaszoo,
YES, the buyer should be present during the home inspection. You are buying the home, hiring and paying for the inspection; you should see the process and be able to ask questions as things progress. If someone is telling you not to be there, get a new agent or inspector.
The seller should NOT be at the inspection. Their presence will slow things down and inhibit the inspector from doing a thorough job.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 25, 2011
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Home > Iowa > Lee County > Wever > Home Buying in Wever > Question
Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer