in the paper looking for a place to rent.I received a e-mail from a rev pastor Sam whose in west africa that the above place was available.With all the internet scams going on especially coming out of Africa I am always suspicious.
This is a great example of some of the scams that are out there. The truth is, most scams are hard to identify. The best thing to do is to meet people locally, work with a professional when applicable, and use common methods to find a rental. Never work with anyone from out of the country or who refuses to let you into the property. Also, another scam these days is for a distressed owner trying to rent out their home just before the foreclosure is final, taking a large deposit, and disappearing with your money.
Renters be careful.
Jeremy Lehman
Century 21 Beachside
Jeremy@LehmanHomes.net
orc.listingbook.com Orange County Home Search
Unless it's a condo or townhouse, the owner probably does not live there. The tax collector knows all the "property owners" so you should go to your local tax office.
Hi Bob,
That does sound a little suspicious. I have received emails like that in the past and when I replied to ask them some questions, my questions were not responded to. Just be careful out there. If you are searching for rentals, let me know and I can research some rentals that meet your criteria.
David Dee
Broker/Realtor
I could email you some rentals in Garden Grove from our local MLS if you would like, just give me some of your search parameters such as bed, baths and amount of rent you are willing to pay, if you prefer condo, townhome or single family home, if you have a pet? I can also send you other areas as well just tell me the cities you are interested if there is any other than Garden Grove. Also, we offer rentals at my office in Long Beach as we property manage many kinds of properties there. If that would be of interest, just let me know and I will be glad to put you in contact with my property manager.
Hope you find this information helpful.
Barbara Robbins-Olexa
Broker
L B Brokerage
714-296-7270
bstrealtor@aol.com
http://www.barbararobbinsolexa.com
This actually sounds like a typical craigslist scam. I'm surprised that you found it in the paper because usually scam artists don't like to pay for ads. You will see alerts on Craigslist from time to time regarding just this type of thing...but it still is a great place for consumers to look for rentals.
We also have in our office a residential leasing agent that can help you find homes not otherwise available to the public and for no charge whatsoever. Let me know if we can help.
I can't help you regarding the owner of that specific property. However, I'd be highly suspicious of an e-mail from someone claiming to be a pastor in West Africa. Very, very highly suspicious.
You can get the name of the owner from your city or county tax assessor's office. It's public information.
As for Rev. Sam, I personally wouldn't even answer him. But, as you probably already know, don't send any money to anyone you don't know. Even if it's just $35 for an "application processing fee," much less a few hundred dollars for some very attractive rental agreement. Don't send a penny.
As for finding a place to rent, if you haven't done it already, try Craigslist.
Hope that helps.
Didn’t find what you were looking for? Ask a question!
|
|
|
|
|||||||||||
|
|
|
|
|
|