Home Buying in Bound Brook>Question Details

Ann 29, Home Buyer in Bound Brook, NJ

We just had a inspection done and there seems to be structral issues as there was a load bearing wall removed

Asked by Ann 29, Bound Brook, NJ Mon Jun 8, 2009

and no replacement beem put up in it's place. I figure that this was done at least 15 -20 years ago and now the house is showing signs of settling with cracks in the 2 floor window up by the ceiling and the actual window looks crooked. The inspector states it is repairable but my issue is that it seems that this has been in this state for too long and I do not know if I want to deal with any future issues that may come out of this. Any advise?

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

8
BEST ANSWER
Ann: Don't figure ANYTHING! That's an engineer’s job. If a structural member was removed, it needs replacement, that 's for sure. Get an engineer to tell you what is going on and what needs to be done to fix the problem. Then get a contractor to give you a price to repair as per the engineer's specifications. In NJ you don't need an architect, you need an engineer, unless they are one and the same. (Some hold dual licenses.)

If all this is too much fuss, the only sensible alternative is to walk to the nearest exit.

Bill Holt
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Jun 8, 2009
I live in the bound brook area and that house has flooded everytime there was a flood in the Bound Brook area you should think twice before purchasing it .
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Oct 30, 2011
Hi Ann29, thanks for the update. There are loads of homes out there to consider - if I can be helpful, send me an email or call 908-337-0943.

Best,
Jeannie Feenick
Search and connect at http://www.feenick.com
Web Reference: http://www.feenick.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Jun 9, 2009
We decided to walk (run) away from this, way to much hassle for a first time home buyer!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Jun 9, 2009
Hi Ann 29, you definitely should consult with a structural engineer - there is a solution to most every issue, but it can be costly.

Although you've already invested money in the process of loan apps, home inspection, don't overlook the importance of having a structural matter thoroughly evaluated - it is money you need to spend to be sure that your decision to buy this home still makes sense to you.

Good luck!

Best,
Jeannie Feenick
Search and connect at http://www.feenick.com
Web Reference: http://www.feenick.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Jun 8, 2009
Ann,
I definately agree with Mr. Holt. If you are still interested in taking a huge risk in this property, you need to get an engineer to give you a run down on all potential problems To me, I would be exiting stage left faster than Yogi the Bear as when you start to 'correct' the problem other problems are sure to show their ugly head.
Tim
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Jun 8, 2009
anything can be fixed with enough time and money. You may want to have structural engineer and architect look at and give you an idea of ways to remedy as well as cost. I moved a 200+ yr old home, added steel supports and can say even with brand new homes there are often future issues of settlement etc.
Kenneth "ken" Verbeyst CRS GREEN ABR SRES GRI
Broker Associate
Prudential Fox&Roach
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Jun 8, 2009
Be sure to take the inspector's information for what it is worth.....we often find issues with inspection that must be referred to experts. This situation is no different. The clarity you are seeking may be able to be provided by referring it to an achectural engineer for their review.

You are probably correct in believing the problem goes far beyond what you can see....the expert can provide the information you need.

Good luck
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Jun 8, 2009
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2014 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer