Home Buying in Shrewsbury>Question Details

Murphy, Home Buyer in Shrewsbury, MA

Mold found during home inspection: first time buyers

Asked by Murphy, Shrewsbury, MA Mon Dec 24, 2012

Hi
We are first time buyers and we have found mold during the home inspection in the attic

How will that affect the value of e home i am looking to buy? Will that affect future sales negatively?

Is that a big problem for mortage?

Should we get the air quality tested along with asking the sellers to remediate it?

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

16
I would get as many inspections as you can on the home you're seriously considering buying. It's a lot of money to invest when you're buying a home and it makes a lot of sense to secure that investment by spending a few hundred dollars on inspections. It would be a good idea to ask the sellers to fix any issues you find in the inspections as well, like you mentioned in your list of questions. http://www.homeinspectionassoc-ma.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Mar 20, 2015
Discuss with your RE Licensee what options are available.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Mar 20, 2015
Have the sellers remedy the mold by a certified mold company.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Mar 20, 2015
Honestly, this all depends on the extent of the mold and where it is, etc. It could reduce the home's value if it's spread too far, but if it gets taken care of soon by a professional, it shouldn't be too big of a problem, least of all in future sales. If there is a small enough amount that it can be removed and cleaned without damage to the structure, then you should be good to go, though I would test the air quality and ask the sellers to pay for the remediation. This occurred while they owned the home, so it's theoretically their responsibility. Just make sure you find a good mold removal company with the experience to do what you need. You don't want to have to worry about this again later.
http://www.airqualityanalysts.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 19, 2015
I think there is definitely room for worry here, and you should look into it. Mold can be very harmful depending on the type, so you will want to get it checked out. If you really like that house, I think it would definitely be a good idea to look into getting the air tested and then getting remediation done. Otherwise, it might be unhealthy for your family to move into the home, and to have good sales later on. http://www.servprorockford.com/mold-removal-remediation
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Mar 4, 2015
Murphy has left the building! This question was asked more than two years ago....Anyone with NEW mold issues, don't be overly concerned by the big, bad "M word"...clean it up, keep it dry and mold will not be a problem...
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Jan 20, 2015
Cory's right, people really shouldn't panic that much about mold removal. There are a lot of companies out there that can help you out. You just have to get on it before it spreads. Thanks a lot for the advice though, Jim. http://www.moldremovalcny.com/Mold-Removal.html
Flag Mon Feb 23, 2015
I couldn't agree with Jim more. Buyers often panic when an inspection turns up mold, but it is not always a disaster. You should certainly have it checked out by a specialist. There are many different types of mold, but they can all usually be removed. It shouldn't affect future value significantly if you get it taken care of.

http://www.commonwealthmoistureandmoldspecialists.com/mold-testing.html
Flag Mon Feb 9, 2015
You are definitely going to want to get it taken care of. Most, if not all, mold can be removed, and it shouldn't cause problems at that point. This is something that the sellers should have to pay for, because the property is still theirs. As long as you get it resolved quickly, you shouldn't have too big of a problem.
http://www.totalrestorationgc.com/moldremediation
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Jan 19, 2015
I would not panic just yet. There are several different species of mold, and some of them are harmless. I think that the mold will certainly affect the value of the home, but the type will determine the amount. You should get it inspected by a mold removal service. They will be able to tell you the type of mold you have and how much it will cost to clean up.

http://www.authorizedmoldremoval.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Jan 3, 2015
You should absolutely get the mold checked out. There are some types of molds that can be very harmful if not fatal to animals and humans. I have always said to steer clear from mold because if it has grown once, it will probably grow again. My brother's house had some black mold in his basement, and he had to pay through the nose for a service to decontaminate his house. http://www.myairandenergy.com/mold-remediation.html
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Oct 13, 2014
It depends on the extent of mold infestation. If it is removed, then there is little affect on the home's future value. The mortgage company may want it to be fixed, but so do you. Ask a professional mold specialist about the air quality test.

http://www.aeconllc.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Sep 24, 2014
Sounds like you need to get a mold specialist out to the home asap to give you an estimate and full understanding of the damage. If the specialist tells you bad news then you need to decide if you want to move forward with purchasing this home as is or if you will only purchase if it if either a) it is remedied by the seller prior to move in; or b) you get a $$ credit and fix the area when you take ownership. All things your buyers agent should be able to help you with.

Good luck!

Territory.com
Massachusetts Premier Buyer Brokerage
617 848 5407 x701
Web Reference: http://territory.com/
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jan 9, 2013
This question is best answered by a mold specialist.
Lenders will vary with their requirements and opinion.
Real estate professionals will have a variety of experiences.
You need to know what type of mold, how much, and especially what the cause is.
If your inspector did not recommend further investigation, I would consider that unusual.

One mold inspector remediator that I know as a friend is Mike Arsenault at 978-739-9783.
His company is AirPro Environmental.


(Please note: when you choose an answer as a Best Answer, or at least give a thumbs up, it helps those who answer questions here.)
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Dec 28, 2012
I think Heath has the right idea in this situation. Only a mold specialist will be able to tell you the type and severity of your mold infestation. Once it is removed, it should not affect the property's value. Just make sure you address any moisture problems. The mold will surely return if there is a source of water.

http://www.rockymountaininspection.ca/mould_inspection.html
Flag Fri Jan 9, 2015
Am presently dealing with a home that has that particular problem. Mold remediation should be(if extensive($2000-5000). An Attic Fan or properly venting the attic after completion is a must!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 25, 2012
Without much information as to the extent of the mold, what did your inspector suggest...
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 25, 2012
The only issue for the mortgage is if you include language about fixing the mold issue in the purchase and sales agreement. If in the p&s the lender will need this fixed with receipts or inspection as proof prior to closing.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 25, 2012
First off just about every house has some mold. Did your home inspector discuss what caused the mold and the severity of it?

Mold in attic is usually caused from improper ventilation. You need to determine the cause of the excessive moisture in the attic. Rather then spending hundreds on an air quality test, get a quote on the mold mitigation and what it will cost to rectify the situation causing the mold.

Lastly, if your concerned, a future buyer will be to.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Dec 24, 2012
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer