Home Buying in 08081>Question Details

Tarun Nangia, Home Buyer in 60005

Is it unfair at a home inspection to ask for compensation due to age of appliances and wear and tear off flooring and carpet?

Asked by Tarun Nangia, 60005 Fri Jul 18, 2014

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

8
It is not a question of fairness but an issue that seems reasonable. For example, before you made your offer you saw the carpeting and the floors. Your offer was made with the knowledge of how they looked. But if during inspection you find out that furnace or hot water heater is very old and may be at the end of their life, you might consider renegotiating, depending upon the individual situation with this property. You would look to your agent for advice.
2 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
Why do you feel "jipped"?
Maybe I am missing something.............

There was another person bidding on the home - if their offer was for all cash, then they had an advantage over your offer. Apparently your offer exceeded theirs, so the sellers went with your offer. Isn't that what you wanted?

Did someone force you to make your offer?
Sounds to me like you're having buyer's remorse.
You are second guessing yourself, and trying to get back partt of that "extra" money you offered.

Well..............That's not really how it works.

You made an offer - your offer was accepted.

Now you had a home inspection. The inspection is for things you CANNOT see and Items that are of a structural nature.

The condition of the carpet and flooring didn't change - it is what it is, and you clearly saw it prior to making your offer. It is assumed that your offer factored that into the number.

As far as the appliances go...was there a seller's disclosure?
Did they state the age of the appliances?
Are they in working order?

if they are, I really don't think it is fair to ask the sellers to compensate you for that.
You're not buying a new home.

Bottom line is............You can always ask.........the sellers can say no.

Why not just be happy you are buying a home you worked so hard to get?

Best wishes.........
1 vote Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
Our offer was $52K less. I got nervous and bid high, yes buyers remorse. But we still want that place. Just seems we over bid and didn't even have a chance to state what we had an issue with
Flag Fri Jul 18, 2014
Are the appliances in working order?

Tough luck if you don't like the way they look.


You could ask for money to replace carpeting/flooring. Is it that huge of an issue for you? Will your offer look worse compared to other offers on the house with this contingency?

I'm not sure "fair" is the right word. If you want these things, ask for them! You just might be surprised at what the seller says.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
You can always try asking. Many sellers will say that any work needed has been factored into the price already.

Chris
1 vote Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
If you've already made an offer at this point you don't really have any right to complain. You should have considered these things when making your offer in the first place.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Sep 3, 2014
Unfortunately when you viewed the property and made an offer whether it was a competition or not you had to be aware of the cosmetic issues with flooring etc. Flooring is not a mechanical or structural defect etc. So trying to negotiate for something to beautify the home after price and terms have been settled is not justifiable. Had it been that much of a concern to you at the time of the offer you should've requested it in the offer and took your chances. The sellers really have no obligation to comply with the request now (not that you can't politely ask). As for appliances if the inspector found a defect than you are well within your limits to ask for repair or replacement. However, if all the appliances work there is not much that can be done because again you had the opportunity to view them prior to making the offer. You could try asking seller for a home protection plan.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
We made an offer. We were told then there was another offer. We both bid. We won. We offered $46K more than our prior offer, we found out the other offer was a "cash offer". We want the place, we feel a little jipped. If we negotiated and got up to a certain dollar amount our issues with the carpet, flooring etc would've been communicated. Now after the bidding war it seems like we have to just accept this $46K extra with nothing else.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
It depends. If the inspector made a note than it is fair game. A good buyer goes in noticing the obvious and rather than using the inspection to create issues. Any reasonable request based on circumstances should not cause ill-feelings.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 18, 2014
We made an offer. We were told then there was another offer. We both bid. We won. We offered $46K more than our prior offer, we found out the other offer was a "cash offer". We want the place, we feel a little jipped. If we negotiated and got up to a certain dollar amount our issues with the carpet, flooring etc would've been communicated. Now after the bidding war it seems like we have to just accept this $46K extra with nothing else.
Flag Fri Jul 18, 2014
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer