Buyinginham, Home Buyer in Hamilton Square, NJ

I am under attny review. Just read the seller's disclosure & the furnace is 31 years old. We want the seller to replace it. Is this?

Asked by Buyinginham, Hamilton Square, NJ Tue Oct 12, 2010

unreasonable?

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

7
This question is best answered by your home inspector. But, at 31 years old, it would seem to be at the end of its usefulness. Are you out of your inspection period?

Best of luck to you!
Web Reference: http://www.DesariJabbar.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Tue Oct 12, 2010
This would fall under your time frame for a home inspection. You should have it inspected by a professional and make sure any results or requests for repairs are done within this period, your attorney review time is for an attorney to review the purchase and sales agreements and any disclosures associated with your offer not home inspection issues.
Web Reference: http://www.ScottSellsNH.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Tue Oct 12, 2010
What is your agent suggesting--and does the price already reflect any possible issues--does the furnace work and was it properly maintained, etc., consider asking your agent the question--he/she can best advise.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Tue Oct 12, 2010
Buyinginham,

You should never put a contract together without the review of the sellers disclosure. If this deal does not work out I would really question your realtor and question the service her or she is providing.

But, since you did put an agreement together and you are in attorney review, I would instruct your attorney that this needs to be negotiated up front before you go under contract. Please remember that you are really not under contract until attorney review is over.

I would not ask them to replace it because they will get the cheapest furnace that is made and that can cause you a whole bunch of problems down the road. I would ask for a credit or reduce the price.

The listing agent s is also going to tell you that Hamilton Township has their own C/O process and they will certify it but don't let them lead you down that path. That inspection is to make sure that it is working today and not tomorrow.
Hope this helps.

If you have any more questions feel free to email me at joel@kandjhomes.com
Web Reference: http://www.kandjhomes.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Oct 18, 2010
this is always something you can ask for. However, this is not a guaranteed factor. Another possible option is for you to get a home warranty or ask the seller to pay for one. That way if it breaks within the warranty period you can get it fixed/replaced at minimum cost most likely. But check to see if something so old is covered. Otherwise just ask for an additional discount and replace it yourself. This way you can control the quality of the furnace!

If you need more help and this deal does not work you can contact me and I will make sure you can avoid these issues in the future.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Oct 17, 2010
Hi there Buyinginham, this is a good question. You may now be out of attorney review and so I'd be interested to know if so, how it worked out on the price. I think a relevent question is when you received the Seller's Disclosure - you should get it and read it prior to making your offer, becasue the price you offer will consider the age of mechanicals. The inspection will determine if that old furnace is working or not - in my experience if a mechanical is old - particularly when disclosed - if it is working, then the seller is unlikely to replace. If is not working properly, then it must be brought to working order or replace, ie, the house will need to convey with working mechanicals.

Another idea is to ask for a home warranty - this is insurance coverage that will cover mechanicals (not roof) and appliances. I've seen this built into an offer or added in during the inspection contingency negotiations. The idea is that the seller purchases the policy in your name and it remains in effect for a set period post close - one year, six months.... It is good for "peace of mind" and a great tool for homes that have mechanicals or appliances that may be close to the end of their useful life. At the end of its term, it will be up to you whether to renew that home warranty policy.

Good luck to you!
Jeanne Feenick
Unwavering Commitment to Service
Web Reference: http://www.feenick.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Oct 17, 2010
If you're early in the process definitly get your realtor to attempt to negotiate with the seller. Condsider the cost of replacement. It's probable with your realtors help to get estimates. You can get a concession in price based on the contractor you decide you want to hire.
Web Reference: http://www.lchometeamsd.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Oct 12, 2010
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer