Home Buying in Charlotte>Question Details

Nchome, Home Buyer in Charlotte, NC

How much does a typical home inspection/pest inspection/appraisal cost?

Asked by Nchome, Charlotte, NC Wed Apr 29, 2009

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

13
The cost of an inspection will vary by inspection company. In general the price is based on a number of factors. First being the total sq ft of the subject property and age.

Pricing should be very last question you ask your inspector. As the most important question is what is the inspectors background and experience. As with everything in life you get what you pay for!! If you want a cheap inspection there are plenty of companies that will provide you with what you need, however you will pay the price in the long run.

To give you an idea of what a good inspection company will charge! Our pricing schedule is below:

How to calculate your Home Inspection prices?

NOTE: NEED TO INCLUDE BOTH HEATED & UNHEATED (eg. GARAGES) SPACES
WHEN DETERMINING RATES
Homes (includes: single Family Home & Townhome & Mobile & Condo):

Up to 1,500 sq.ft.: $325.00
1,500 – 1,999 sq.ft.: $350.00
2,000 – 2,499 sq.ft.: $375.00
2,500 – 2,999 sq.ft.: $400.00
3,000 – 3,499 sq.ft.: $425.00

Above 3,500 sq.ft x.125 Example 4000x.125= $5000

ï‚• Crawlspace inspection fee: +$35.00 additional fee to home inspection fee
ï‚• Detached buildings (if required to be inspected): +$25.00 per 500 sq.ft.
ï‚• Duplex: (add to regular Home Inspection fee): $100.00
ï‚• Pre-Dry-Wall inspections: 65% of the regular full home inspection fee, with a minimum
fee of $225.00
ï‚• New construction inspection fee: same as regular home inspection fee.
ï‚• Homes 20 years and older, add: $ 50.00
ï‚• Homes older than 50 years, add: $ 75.00
ï‚• Radon gas: $175.00
ï‚• Well water bacteria test (includes: total coloform & faecal coloform): $120.00
ï‚• Lead sample: $110.00
ï‚• Termite inspection: $75.00 (with home inspection only)
 Re-inspections from report findings: ½ the inspection fee starting at $150.00

Sincerely,

David Johnson
Certified ASHI Inspector.
http://www.charlotte-inspector.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 17, 2013
I am a home inspector in Charlotte NC. Most prices here range from about 300-600 dollars depending on the square footage and if you need a termite inspection. Termite inspections range from 50 to 125 dollars. You can find our price list at http:/www/homeinspectioncarolina.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sun Feb 28, 2010
A home inspection can vary depending on a number of factors. You can expect to pay anywhere from $250-$600. The amount of square footage, and age of the home are the most influential factors, however if you need other inspections outside a typical four point inspection (home and appliances) such as radon, termite and pool this of course will increase your cost. If you have any further questions please feel free to gibe us a call. We would love to have the opportunity to assist you in your home inspection process!

Frank Blas
http://www.ContinentalHomeInspections.com
713.203.3641
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed May 20, 2015
In my area a home inspection is around $300.00. A pest "inspection" is sometimes done at no cost, but the actual work can be high if there is a lot of damage and repair work needed. We as Realtors do a Property market value, not actual appraisals. Appraisals are often ordered by the lending institution,to assure the loan. I have heard they can run up to 450.00
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Oct 24, 2014
I think it depends on who you hire to do it. I would call around to local companies to get an idea of what you're going to pay. This will give you an average cost and see what the prices range from. Good luck and I hope everything works out for you! http://www.inspectahomes.com.au/web/buying
Flag Mon Dec 22, 2014
That's what I've found my area charges as well, Dorene. I think it's pretty standard. My home needed a lot of repairs so the inspection was more money than I had initially thought. They did do the pest inspection for free, though, and they found a few different infestations. I was so happy to get rid of those before we moved in. I can't stand pests in my home. http://jha.com.au/index.php?page=buildpest
Flag Tue Dec 2, 2014
I was just wondering how much this would cost as well. I think that it will depend on what type of pests you are looking for in your home. The price will vary from different businesses, so you will want to do your research. http://www.cairnspest.com.au/price
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Oct 24, 2014
Preston Sandlin's firm is definitely a great place to get an inspection.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Mar 6, 2013
can a home inspector also do the repair work they find
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Mar 6, 2013
I think it depends most on how big your house is. If you know how much square footage you have you can get estimates from different pest control companies. That way you can compare them and decide how you want to get the inspection done. You can just look in the phone book. http://jha.com.au
Flag Thu Dec 4, 2014
Not without a creating an ethical issues.
Flag Tue Dec 17, 2013
In our area (suburbs of Washington DC) most inspections are $300-$500.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 29, 2009
Good evening, Nchome!

It is very important for you to know all of the costs involved for to purchase a home besides just the down payment for the loan. Your Buyer's Agent will be sure to explain every step in detail. In addition, your Buyer's Agent will negoiate the best deal in accordance with your personal situation. I personally do my very best job to get my Client's to closing with as little of money out of pocket as possible.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at debra@hmproperties.com or at 704.421.2107.

Have a wonderful evening!
Debbie
Web Reference: http://www.hmproperties.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 29, 2009
Dear Homebuyer,

I'm glad you ask about home inspections. It is very important to have a home inspector. I also agree with Dale Austin, that many sellers are will in today's market to pay the closing costs for the buyer. Negotiating for what is best for you in today's market is the best reason to have a Buyer's Agent to represent you. It is also important to note that the commission paid to the Buyer's Agent is paid by the seller thru the listing agreemtent when their house is listed.

The cost of inspections depends on the type of inspection that you want. If you want a full structural and mechanical inspection done by someone who can give you full stuctural engineering opinions and estimates of repair costs, then you will probably need to pay around $500 for an inspection. I also work with a very good company that does the basic inspection which will recommend further inspection if needed and that basic inspection including termite inspection is around $380. There are different ranges between.

Let me know if I can be of service to you in your purchasing needs.

Have a blessed day!

Sara Rich
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 29, 2009
I'll agree with the pricing structures mentioned in the other replies....but with a good buyer's agent negotiating the offer to purchase for you .... it could cost you nothing! Have the seller pay all this for you.... it's a very common practice for the seller to agree to pay these items. In today's market, more sellers are willing to make that concession to get their home sold. Don't buy a home without a buyer's agent working for you. A buyer's agent works for your behalf, and the seller pays his commission. You get a free service from a buyer's agent. Contact me if I can be of assistance to you in making a purchase.
Web Reference: http://www.IsellUnion.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 29, 2009
The prices I see are similar to Billy's, with inspections running $300 to $400 for basic inspection, more if you need Radon (strongly recommended), well, septic, etc. Pest inspections run around $75, and appraisals are running around $400. Inspections are paid when the house is inspected (all inspectors I've used require payment before they start the inspection) Pest inspections are paid sometimes at the inspection, and sometimes at closing. Most the lenders I've worked with are having appraisals paid at closing, but I am starting to see more require appraisals be paid before the appraisal is done (due to some houses never making it to closing, so buyers not paying the appraisal fee and lender getting stuck with the bill)
Web Reference: http://www.tri4sale.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 29, 2009
Well its dependent on the size and age of the home. Also there are different home inspections you can get. A guesstimate of a regular structural home inspection is around $350. The pest inspection can be anywhere from $50-100 and the appraisal at Allen Tate Mortgage is $350 and is paid upfront when you apply for a mortgage. You might need to ask your mortgage broker if this is the case.

Thanks,

Billy Shugart
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Apr 29, 2009
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer