Home Buying in Oceanside>Question Details

Anne G, Home Buyer in Oceanside, NY

Home Inspection Report

Asked by Anne G, Oceanside, NY Thu Feb 12, 2009

After I get a Home Inspection on a Prospective Property, and the property needs many repairs, am I obligated to give a copy of the report to the seller?

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

7
Joe Nernberg’s answer
Actually, you are required to give a copy of the home inspection report to the seller in California (paragraph 9b of the C.A.R. Purchase Agreement). I am willing to bet that other state contracts have a similar obligation.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sun Feb 15, 2009
BEST ANSWER
Anne,

Great question.....

The next step is to create a cover letter to be sent to the owner's listing agent that requests the identified repairs to be made. It is not necessary to provide the entire report but the overview page and supporting pictures with descriptions of the work to be done should be noted.

We recommend also requesting reciepts to document the work has been done,

Good luck,
The Eckler Team
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Feb 12, 2009
No, you're not required to give the seller a copy of the report; however, if you intend to readjust your offer price based upon the results of the report, then it might help to strengthen your argument to at least show the seller a copy of the summary of the report--assuming you're still interested in purchasing the home.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Thu Feb 12, 2009
You had paid for the inspection, the report is yours.
If you had signed a contract you need to speak to your attorney about how to deal with the problem.
Good luck.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed May 12, 2010
No, you are not required--however, should there be unanticipated cosly repairs and wish to either have the seller repair or dollars off, do give a copy to your attorney so that it can be discussed with the seller's attorney.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Feb 15, 2009
You're certainly not obligated to provide it but if you want the work done, I would provide the pages to the seller's attorney through your attorney. Cosmetic repairs are usually something that the seller may refuse to do since it is structural or systemic and you could have seen the cosmetic issues before you made your offer. Good luck in your home search and I hope everything works out if you've already found the home you desire. If I can help in some way, please feel free to contact me.

Ralph Windschuh
Century 21 Princeton Properties
631-467-0009
rwindschuh@c21princetonproperties.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Feb 13, 2009
Anne
You have a REaltor, right?
What do they advise?

In most cases buyers use an inspection report to negotiate either repairs (made by a professional, proof of work completed is required) or an allowance on the sale price. I think that giving them a copy of the report might make your case stronger.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Feb 12, 2009
Keith Sorem, Real Estate Pro in Glendale, CA
MVP'08
Contact
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2014 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer