Home Buying in Lehigh Acres>Question Details

Tony, Home Buyer in Lehigh Acres, FL

General home Inspection questionaire?

Asked by Tony, Lehigh Acres, FL Wed Jun 16, 2010

The bank just accepted my offer for nice home bult in 2006 in Lehigh Acres, since I am out of state, i don't see the house and I want to have a peace of mind by hiring a home inspection. Will general inspection be good enough or I must have other inspection like radon; mold; well and septic etc.. done too. If so, I will be paying a lot more money. By the way defective Chinese drywall is included in general inspection.
Many thanks in advance

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

13
BEST ANSWER
Tony: Having worked in this area for 13 years dealing with hundreds of out of state buyers, you are well advised to have the gamet of inspections. The key word you mentioned is "peace of mind". To achieve this you will need to do all your inspections. HOWEVER since this is a bank owned property you are buying it is as is and at the end of the day only MAJOR defects would require you to walk away. The question becomes will any other defects than MAJOR cause you to cancel? If the answer is no, then do not waste your money doing all the other inspections other than the home inspection. You might seriously consider the well and septic inspection as this would be MAJOR if you had issues. Another angle is knowing what has happened with pricing in Lehigh you are getting this house for a song and thus, paying for the inspections may be a small price in the end result. Good Luck! Chris
Web Reference: http://www.spinarealty.coom
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 16, 2010
A home inspection is a good idea before the purchase of any home. Since you are an out of state buyer a home inspection is crucial because you cannot inspect the property personally.

I recommend learning more about the home inspection process so that you know what to look for when you get the report.

A good place to start is a buyers home inspection checklist, which can be found at the link below.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Jun 19, 2010
The inspection done sucessfully nothing major.
you're all great...This a resourceful site.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Jun 19, 2010
Radon is definitely in Florida and certain zip codes are prone to Radon. You can check your probability of radon by zip here:

http://esetappsdoh.doh.state.fl.us/irm00radon/default.aspx

Radon can be remediated so it isn't a deal killer but it's important to do your due diligence--especially if you are in a higher probability zip code.

Also, you should do a final walkthrough before you close and take ownership.

Good luck and congrats!

Alma
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Jun 17, 2010
Hello Tony,
You probably only have a small window of 7-10 days in which to have your home inspector go into the home, inspect and obtain any valid reason that would make your purchase unwise. Most home inspectors have placed in the small print that they are not to be held responsible for radon, mold, defective drywall etc. Therefore if you are relying on an inspection to make an intelligent decision on the purchase then I recommend a company that will offer you an inspection that will best protect you including their best evaluation of the well system and septic system since many homes are missing equipment or have been found to contain poor drainage fields and substandard septic equipment. Here again some companies have gone into homes and declared homes that have NO defective drywall a home that has it. So, it is important to make sure that if your home inspector is going to do these types of inspections that they DO NOT have disclaimers and that they DO have experience doing the type of inspection that you request. For example, Kross Inspectors (239-677-4403) uses micro cameras for defective drywall portion of their inspection in addition to the standard inspection of ground wires in the electrical outlets, coils on the a/c handler and refrigerator.
If this home has been sitting for a while then a home inspection is wise and worth the $250 -$325 that you might spend. If this is a cash purchase then your pest inspection can be done any time and usually is only another $50 - $75 and would be recommended to get a company on board doing periodic treatments initially on the interior and then adjusting to doing only the exterior perimeter.
The policy of "caveat emptor, a Lain term meaning "let the buyer beware" continues as the historical perspective of Florida Real Estate Law. Happy to help.

Sarah Garrett, Realtor
ALLIANCE REALTY GROUP
"Chosen Best in Client Satisfaction 2006-2010" by Gulfshore Life Magazine
Cell: 239-464-8620
Email: sarahgarrett@argfl.com
FL Gulfcoast MLS: http://www.swfloridahomebuyer.listingbook.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Jun 17, 2010
Radon does not apply to florida, chinese drywall is included by most home inspecters as is mold. If the property is not city water.sewer the well septic is part of the process as well as all major home systems.

Debbie Albert, PA
Coldwell Banker Residential
Web Reference: http://www.ronanddebbie.net
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Jun 17, 2010
Radon depends on the state your in I know because I deal with Illinois and Iowa real estate and a radon report is required in ILLinois but not Iowa also it's all the buyers discretion on what gets inspected it's always a good idea to get a good full inspection on a house with anything made in China thats defective, might wanna get a SARs inspection as well.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Jun 17, 2010
Tony,
Have your realtor recommend home inspecters that they are familiar with in your area. As in any other field, there are the great, the good, and the "what are they doing"!

We recommend a few in our area that we know do a complete inspection including WDO (wood destroying organisms). We see complete detailed reports with photos from the inspecters we recommend. We have seen 2 page, no photo inspection reports too and find out that you do get what you pay for.

Again, please get referrals from those who use inspecters on a regular basis.

Debbie Albert, PA
Coldwell Banker Residential
Web Reference: http://www.ronanddebbie.net
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Jun 17, 2010
Tony:

Having the property inspected is certainly a very good idea. I'm sure that your purchase agremment is for an "as-is" purchase. Having peace of mind- or at least knowing what you're getting into will be helpful.

The general inspection should cover signs of mold and septic/well.

♥.•*¨`*•♫.
≈≈≈ Mott Marvin Kornicki, REALTOR® ≈≈≈
Aventura | Bal Harbour | Sunny Isles Beach
≈≈≈≈≈≈ "★” This is the House “★" ≈≈≈≈≈≈
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 16, 2010
Home inspectors inspect for functionality of equipment. Yes they will inspect visual evidence of mold and most inspectors will charge more for a radon and/or termite inspection. Home inspectors will make statements like "there is a strong evidence of Chinese drywall". General home inspections run around $325.

Their are inspectors that will only inspect for Chinese drywall and nothing else. This can be done for around $125,000

Some lending institutions might want a separate septic system inspection. Another charge. Home inspectors do not do quality of water but do check for functionality of well equipment, thus electricity has to be turned on.

Once your contract has been accepted by the seller you have just so many days to get your inspection done. Amount of days should have been stated in your contract. Be sure to stay within the time limit to get the inspection done.

It is very important that you do get a home inspection. I can recommend a couple of inspectors that are very shall we say...anal. Just call or send us an email.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 16, 2010
This is your opportunity to take advantage of the discovery process of your home and to become educated about its current conditions by a licensed professional. Your Realtor or agent may also have negotiated a home inspection contingency on your behalf in an effort to protect your interests. You are smart to also add radon testing and other features to the home inspection - well worth the money. Congratulations on your new home and all the best!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 16, 2010
If you haven't seen the property at all, it is in your best interest to make the time and take a look beforehand and make any visual assessments--as for the inspection, whatever you deem important so that your comfort level can be reached.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 16, 2010
It all depends on your comfort level. I recommend a home inspection for all my Buyers, as well as a Wood Destroying Organism ("termite") inspection. Even if the property is being sold AS-IS, the inspections offer you peace of mind.

All the best,
Maggie Hawk, REALTOR
(386) 314-1149
Watson Realty Corp.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jun 16, 2010
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2014 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer