Home Buying in 33901>Question Details

myscoop2, Other/Just Looking in Pembroke Pines, FL

Can we order a termite inspection, roof inspection, prior to purchasing an " as is " short sale home?

Asked by myscoop2, Pembroke Pines, FL Mon Nov 12, 2012

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

11
yes, you can. Infact great agent suggest this. that way there are no open contingencies on the buyers side of transaction when Short Sale Approval comes from lender. Here are some good articles on short sales. http://blog.house-guy.com/category/everything-about-short-sales/
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 11, 2012
Yes, as long as you can get authorization to access a home, you can order those inspections on any home at any time. But, unless you're actually in contract to purchase, you're essentially tossing away $500 on each inspection for nothing. With short sales, you're not in contract until the short sale lender approves. The seller's acceptance of your offer doesn't mean very much.

Since several of the previous answers didn't seem to have read your question, an "as is" purchase means you've waived your inspection contingency. While you can inspect for your own information, you won't be able to bring up any issues to the seller or back out due to issues discovered during inspection.
Web Reference: http://www.archershomes.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 4, 2012
You must be under contract and within your inspection period if you would like to order these types of people to a home you wish to purchase. This would mean you need to place an offer on the house and have it ACCEPTED by the BANK (not the seller) that holds that mortgage. The Sellers agent would be able to tell you when the Acceptance comes from the bank. If you are asking this question to see if you can avoid the wait time on a home that might have problems, then the answer is NO. You are better off waiting for an approval from the bank until you spend money on inspections. What if they reject your offer? You will be out the $300-400, and no house... Please let me know if I can answer any other questions.

Chris Adamski

Century 21 Sunbelt Realty, Inc.
Steve Koffman & Associates
#1 Team in Florida 2003-2011
#3 Team in Nation 2011
http://www.chrisadamski.com
506 SW 47th Terrace
Cape Coral, FL 33914
Direct: 239-357-7952
Office: 239-443-2459
Fax: 239-443-2486
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Dec 4, 2012
With a short sale, nothing is official until you have a short sale approval from the lender. So if you placed an offer on a short sale, and wanted to have inspections conducted prior to getting that approval, you can.... but you would be wasting your money if the offer you placed was rejected. My recommendation would be, that if you have found a short sale listing that you like. Place the offer, wait the approval period. And then once you received the approval, then conduct your inspections. Most short sale approval periods are good for 30 days, and you would want your agent to set up a 10 day inspection period that begins the day you receive the approval. If you conduct your inspections prior to that, you could just be wasting your money.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
Hello myscoop2.

These are all good answers. There is an inspection period on your contract and it does vary. The seller and the buyer and negotiate that in a short sale. I did use to live in Pembroke Pines. Please let me know if I can help you in any way.


Kindest Regards,
Pam Wittenauer
239-989-7077
http://www.realtyinswflorida.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
Wait until you get the bank approval in writing....your Realtor should advise you on this

jessemcgreevy@gmail.com
239-898-5329
http://www.Domain-RealtyGroup.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
One other consideration. If the home is in "boarder-line" condition, doing an inspection on the front end could save you a lot of time and may be worth the money lost. Having to wait 3 to 5 months to see if the short sale is approved then finding out the condition of the home is not acceptable would not be fun. You are still out the $$ for the inspection because it revealed a problem with the home that caused you to "back out", BUT you also lost the time in the waiting process. Just something to think about. It is more common to wait until the short sale approval, but with many properties, it could be a wise choice to do the inspection early. Good luck!

Dave Lang
Keller Williams Realty
239-677-8780

http://www.SWFloridaHomeSearch.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
I agree you should wait. Even though you are buying as-is, the bank could come back asking you for more then you want to spend on the purchase price. Use this "Approval" time to find a qualified and recommended inspection company.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
Victor and Marge hit the nail on the head. Wait until you have your bank approval on the short before spending any money. You can always have those inspections if you have an approved sales contract but realize that is the short sale does not go through, you'll be out that money.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
Absolutely, but I would advise you to have it during the inspection period after the bank has approved the price
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
Yes you can...but be advised that if the short sale does not go through...you are out the money. Hopefully you have an inspection period which begins after you receive the Short Sale approval from the bank. That is when you want to do your inspections.

Let me know if you have any additional questions.

Regards,

Victor Schargorodski
239-218-9400
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Nov 12, 2012
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer