Agent2Agent in 90230>Question Details

Mike Dronge, Real Estate Pro in Beverly Hills, CA

While during the inspection of a condo the inspector added in the exterior of the building as well as the plumbing located in garage. Is that normal?

Asked by Mike Dronge, Beverly Hills, CA Thu Aug 28, 2014

Help the community by answering this question:


A condo the appraiser wanted to take a photo of building water heater(common) to validate it is secured. I thought it was odd for a conventional mortgage for California.

Sam Shueh
Keller Wms Realty
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Sep 1, 2014
In California it is not part of the inspection of a condo. the only items that are inspected are the components within the condo walls.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Aug 31, 2014
In my experience it's not, but it won't hurt you to have additional issues inspected. Perhaps he has had issues with the plumbing located in the garages of those condo's in the past. The inspection is for your protection as a buyer.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Aug 31, 2014
Huge, huge, hugely important.
Following the inspection, the buyer must be capable of interpreting the condo reserves to understand the risk to which they may be exposed. Reviewing the minutes of the past few meeting is always helpful.

Some buildings within a community may be 'pay as you go' (low monthly fee) while others prescribe to scheduled maintenance and managed replacement (much higher monthly fee) and well funded reserves.

I've witnessed a lot of forced foreclosures via unanticipated assessments. In waterfront locations, pay as you go is a formula for disaster.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Aug 31, 2014
Definitely agree with what others have posted, and I can say that I was in a situation a while back where the inspector actually did not check some of the exterior features (that the buyer was actually responsible for) that ended up being a HUGE deal. We got it all ironed out in the end, but always better safe than sorry!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Aug 29, 2014
It's very much normal as it should be. While the owner doesn't own the exterior, bad siding, roof etc could have an adverse affect on his/her interior property. When spotted, it should be addressed to the condo organization to see what plans they have for updates and if they plan on sharing that cost with everyone in the unit.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Aug 29, 2014
Yes, and its good for you to know that in case any special assessments might be pending due to the shared property condition.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Aug 29, 2014
HI Mike,

It certainly is not abnormal. The plumbing impacts the unit! Why do you ask?
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Aug 29, 2014
Yes, in my experience it is. You are buying a unit and technically own only the interior space, but the systems attached and the external are also a part of what you are buying into. If the plumbing or siding have defects, you may end up with an expensive special assessment to address the issues in the near future.
If there are 100 units in the complex, you own your unit and 1% of the rest of the complex. I sold a unit a year ago with bad siding and a broken pool. We found out that they were in the midst of getting bids and preparing to address the issues. My buyer knew going in that this would be coming down the road. We renegotiated our offer and she bought it now, fully informed.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Aug 28, 2014
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer