Agent2Agent in Boise>Question Details

Aaron Catt, Real Estate Pro in Boise, ID

What are your thoughts on 'Showing/Previewing' feedback to listing agents?

Asked by Aaron Catt, Boise, ID Sat Mar 5, 2011

I have found many buyers agents unwilling to give feedback. Do you find value in providing the listing agent with good and detailed feedback. Do you feel any obligation to the feedback process as a buyers agent? All comments welcome!

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

24
It is so frustrating as a sellers agent when the buyers agent can't be bothered to give feedback. The sellers go to so much work to make their home look great for showings and leave their home so the buyers have privacy. They anxiously await feedback after every showing and can't wait for the phone call telling them how wonderful their home is.

My office emails the agent 3 times asking for feedback. I would say about 60% of agents provide feedback. I'm just not sure why the other 40% can't be bothered.

I always provide feedback when I show homes (even if we are looking at tons of homes). I just make a note on the showing sheet so I will remember the home.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Mon Mar 7, 2011
I once had a listing wherein the doorway was unusually low. Neither the seller nor I realized how low it was because we are rather short ourselves. I am just under 5'4" stretched out.

The good news is that in several of the feedback requests it was pointed out to us that the husband was too tall and had to duck to pass through. So seller had it raised and we went under contract a few days later.

I once had a vacant listing and after a showing, the agent filled out showing report and told me there was a very foul odor in the home. Found out the sump pump was not kicking in and there was stagnant water in a closet. Also very helpful information.

I really do not understand what all the fuss is about. It takes less than a minute to fill out a showing report. Can't we just do that?
Web Reference: http://www.lindacefalu.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Mon Mar 7, 2011
I much prefer the automated system. Before automated, during the bubble boom times, when buyers were more numerous and listings were gold, top listing producers would have their rookie unlicensed assistants call me on my Cell !!! Phone for "feedback"
Talk about annoyance.. The top producer herself did not want to spend her own time reaching out to me. but was merely harvesting "feedback" for the purpose of showing her client how hard she was working on getting it sold. Some of these unlicensed assistants had not seen the property themselves, and had no ability to answer any question I might have. On My cell phone!! Again, back in those days before unlimited calling, you paid by the minute. I stopped leaving my card. Or if I had to leave it, I crossed out the cell phone number.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
Jim Walker, Real Estate Pro in Carmichael, CA
MVP'08
Contact
Aaron,

The feedback "game" is interesting to say the least. For example, I showed about a dozen homes today and I expect to get some rather unique requests for feedback. I treat them about with the respect I do any other telephone survey (not too well). I do not feel it is my job to preview the market on behalf of the listing agents and share my research with them. However, if it is someone I know (like you) I would typically cooperate fully.

I think if the listing agents plans on following up, they should have their "survey" in the home so it can be filled out at the time of the showing. I have had some agents call while I am still out showing and I won't respond then. I have had others respond the day before their listing expires and I won't respond then either. I know two of the homes I showed today were in the same subdivision and both were vacant and neither agent had taken the time to preview the other agents listing yet expected me to take time away from my clients to bring them up to speed. I didn't spend much time with those agents. I was shocked when I got home and was going to email the listing to another client that there were no interior photos of the vacant home which had been listed almost six months!

When a listing agent calls me for feedback, I ask them to email me their virtual tour of the listing to refresh my memory along with a list of questions and I would be glad to comply. 90% of the time or more, that is the last I hear from them.

When I follow up on my listings, I email the showing agent the following day with specific questions and a link to my virtual tour and a copy of my listing flyer or a link to the MLS listing.

In my 19 years as a Realtor I have yet to be asked one of the most important questions "How did your client hear about my listing?"

Jim Paulson
Owner/Broker - Progressive Realty Corp.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
Aaron- I always give feedback when asked, and I appreciate it when given by other agents. When representing buyers I give feedback as a courtesy to the listing agent. Often feedback helps the seller understand better what buyers are looking for. It may help the listing agent get a needed price adjustment or an agreement to do some staging or updating. They way I look at it is that we are all in this together. It only makes sense to help however we can.
Web Reference: http://www.SueDahlgren.com
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
Lots of good answers. Here's an idea that I didn't hear anyone touch on.

I work on site in a new home community. It's still fairly new and we are offering a pretty unique amenity that most communities don't have. As a part of that, we have structured our pricing to reflect the quality and amenities of the community and I think we've done a very respectful job. We also try to build our plans based on what the market is demanding--right now, lot's of single levels.

Anyhow, I have had a few agents show the community to their clients and in one case the agent refused to leave feedback, and the other was very unconcerned about leaving feedback as well.

Here's my problem with that:

#1, it assumes that the buyers rep's know everything about their client and their deepest concerns and can answer all of their questions accurately. #2, It also assumes that their clients feedback about the community, the amenities and the homes will have little to no impact on the future of what we offer and at what price or what we could do for their client.

The first point- Rarely does a buyers rep know everything that is going on in the mind of their buyer. It's silly to assume that since your client isn't asking questions, that they don't have any. It's also silly to assume that they don't have objections--they do, or you'd be writing the deal! Getting those questions on the table and getting answers to them is your job and it doesn't mean you're pushy, it means you're competent.

I asked the agent of one of the buyers if his client had questions and to use me as a resource if they needed any help. His response was that his client didn't have questions. Oddly enough, after 3 to 4 showings on the same spec to the same buyer, that buyer ventured over to our sales model without his agent and said he did in fact have a few questions.

The Second Point--As a listing agent, I do my best to know and understand the current market and how it affects my listings. But, what many buyers forget, is that their client is looking for 'their version of perfect'. It's an easy trap to fall into that if the client is capable and willing to build, that they should look at what the builder can do to help the buyer get the home they want and need at the price that makes sense for them. If they aren't willing to build and our community just isn't the right fit, then it would be to the buyer's rep's advantage to get to know the community; features, advantages and benefits and also to let us know that our product isn't what his buyers find accommodating.

Any good builder or developer will take repeated or consistent feedback seriously and if agents are competent enough will know that their input is valid and could help produce pricing and product that better fit buyers needs and wants. Happy buyers=happy buyer's reps.

We're all in it together...leave feedback that matters.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 10, 2011
Aaron:

If I receive an email report then I have no problem filling out feedback, but I hate phone calls from brokers. Some listing agents get so emotionally attached to their properties that they attack the buyer's agent and question their feedback. In my opinion the real issue lies with the seller's agents that don't like the feedback they get and then they alienate the buyer's broker. That is a topic that is worthy of discussion as well. Best
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Mar 8, 2011
I really have to wonder what all the fuss is about over filling out 5-7 question report. I truly find it the best way to give feedback because it takes less time and you are less likely to say something that you shouldn't thereby compromising your buyer.

And..........in this day and age of electronic correspondence, I think we are going to find more and more agents using showing services. I will admit that I was a bit reluctant at first, but I have been using it for several years and it is such a great way to set up showings and receive feedback and most agents in my area fill them out with no problem.
Web Reference: http://www.lindacefalu.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Mar 8, 2011
Selling Agents: If you showed the home, please be kind and leave feedback if requested.

Listing Agents: Make it easy: make sure your voicemail # is on the MLS sheet &/or send the SA a quick email for which to "reply". Please don't expect the showing agent to answer any questionare OR call you on your cell phone to "engage" in feedback questions. K.I.S.Silly.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Mar 7, 2011
I'm all for cooperation, and if any agent wants to call me up to chat about their listing, I will make time during the day to do so. But I really shouldn't be telling you anything you don't know - the home is beautiful and well-presented, priced below the comps for the area and a great buy, and . . . my buyer doesn't want to live in it.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
I don't mind giving it and I appreciate getting it. I especially like the automated under ten questions. I can fill it out anytime of day or night and at my convenience. I also prefer this to a phone call because calls tend to take up more time.

I use a showing service for my listings and they automatically send out a short automated report. Most agents do fill this out and I appreciate it!
Web Reference: http://www.lindacefalu.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
After reading the answers given by other agents, I'd like to make one more comment. I use an "automated" system for feedback. I set specific questions for each of my listings. I put in the agent information when I see they have shown a property. I do not send feedback requests when it a second or third showing.

The reason I use this system is for the statistics it keeps (i.e. 70% of respondents thought the home was not well maintained). I have a great tool to review with my sellers. It is easy for showing agents to answer. They can just click their choice and provide additional feedback if they wish to. It shows the pictures of the property (we can all use a little memory refreshing if we are showing lots of homes). I much prefer to give feedback this way. It gives me time to give careful consideration before answering unlike trying to switch gears when I receive a phone call.

I was surprised to hear how many agents say they won't respond to these. I have a pretty high response rate.
Web Reference: http://www.SueDahlgren.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
Aaron,
It is a small community within which we work. The comments of some shown below exhibit such a arrogance and paranoia that I would prefer such agents actually stay away from any property displaying my sign. My sellers will without a doubt understand the perils of being exposed to such people.

When scheduling a showing for any occupied property for which I have responsibility, I will advise the showing agent "I will give you a call for your BUYERS feedback." That call will occur the following morning. Here in the Tampa bay area of Florida, the community of real estate professionals understand real estate is bought and sold through the cooperative efforts of the community. We understand the service we provide home buyers and home sellers transcends our personal egos and inconveniences. We do help each other. I prefer working within such a community.

As Sameer stated, I am the expert regarding the marketing and sale of my listings. It is not the agents opinion in which I have interest but the buyers observation of:
1. Faults with property
2. Fit doesn't fit their requirements
This feedback allows me, and you if you ever have a home to market, to open the conversation in this way, "We anticipated this would become a problem and some buyers have commented regarding this. Here are some options available to mitigate this situation....."

I do not respond to automated feed back requests generated at the time of appointment by the scheduling company. Agents using these resources are causing feedback resentment from everyone. Nor do I respond to emailed feedback requests more that 24 hrs after the showing. However, while I still have the documentation in hand, I am happy to provide any information of benefit to the home seller.

If you do reach me via telephone for feedback on your listing my buyer looked at 4 days ago, I simply won't remember. The feed back will be, here's the answer so the call becomes unnecessary, "My buyers were not sufficiently impressed to ask for details or make an offer."

I do believe, as Kathy shared, if feedback is desired, the listing agent needs to actively pursue it in a timely manner.
Annette Lawrence
ReMax Realtec Group
Palm Harbor, FL
727. 420. 4041
Web Reference: http://www.MyDunedin.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
I always answer feedback questions but I keep it short unless an agent calls for details. Last week we were touring REO's & in one property the roof was leaking in the kitchen & garage. I gave that feedback to the agent and within 48 hours the price on the property droped in the MLS system the amount that was required for the replacement & the repairs. My client who orginally had no interest will make an offer today on the property. I assume my comments & comments of other agents may have been forwarded to the bank & maybe this is why the took action on the price? aka feedback is good
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
As always I somewhat surprised by some of the answers given in response to Aaron's question. Since moving here from the Seattle area I have found some agents more protective of their clients and/or listings than what I experienced in a larger market. It was like that back in the 70's but the industry changed.

My main focus has always been a marketing/listing type agent and know both my listings and my competition well. As a listing agent I work hard very at developing respectful, long term relationships with other agents as I market my listing to them as much as I do the general public to get my listings sold.

Because I know the competition well, if I find out what the buyers objections are to my listing and can't resolve the problem, many times I will tell the agent about other properties that may fit their clients needs.

It's like Phil stated below, "What goes around comes around"

We are in a service orientated business and that shouldn't mean only servicing our clients.

The next time you write a deal on a property listed with an agent you were rude too - Well your client many be the one that pays the price for your attitude and willingness to cooperate.

These are tough times and only those agents that are willing to go the extra mile are the ones that will succeed in the bigger picture.

George Martin, Jr.
Windermere Real Estate
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sun Mar 6, 2011
Maybe.

I have sinus problems and am not particularly good at smelling, so I was glad to have an agent tell me that the sewer had backed up into the kitchen sink in my vacant condo listing!

Generally - and with no offense meant to my fellow agents - I don't care what you think if you're not going to write an offer. If it was something that we could correct, you'd write an offer, subject to correcting that, right? If you didn't like that the roof was old or the water heater was old or your buyer hated the carpet . . . you'd write it up, right?

But the floor plan doesn't work for your buyer, they don't like that the yard is too big/small, they don't like the neighbor's house, they wanted a north-facing kitchen . . . I don't care. I suppose if you were to tell me something about the house I don't know . . . but then again, if I can't do anything about it, what does it matter?

One thing that has never happened in my career: I've called an agent, looking for feedback, and they said, "Mack - so glad you called! My guys wanted to write an offer on your house, but we lost the listing sheet and couldn't figure out which one it was!"

I can tell you, in advance, I have no useful feedback for you. Either I was previewing for a buyer or a CMA, or my buyer doesn't like your listing enough to make an offer. If they liked the house, but felt is was overpriced, I would urge them to write an offer to test your response.

Warmly,
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
Aaron,
I will provide feedback to any listing agent that calls or "personally" emails me. I am a buyers agent for the most part.
I refuse to answer "automated" emails asking for my input.
If the L/A was really concerned about my input and asking me for my time, they would send a personal email. Why give my time to an automated system? Who knows if they even read them(?)
Too many systems are automated for agents. The personal touch from both ends may reep more responses and give better feedback.
Great question!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
As professional agents it's important to our industry that we work together and help support one another. I am happy to give basic feedback to any agent that asks for it other than price opinions. Hearing buyers objections is critical feedback that helps listing agents address marketing issues that they might not have thought about or noticed.

The only time I get silent is if my client is really interested in the property as in that case that's who I am representing and I don't want to create any issues or disclosures that may affect my ability to negotiate on their behalf.

George Martin, Jr.
Associate Broker
Windermere Real Estate, Hailey - Sun Valley
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
I think out of respect, all buyers agents should have the common courtesy to give feedback if a listing agent is asking for it. I've called, e-mailed and even texted some agents and they don't respond. I get the hint, but when the home is not a short sale our sellers really need feedback. That's how listing agents get price reductions. If we all help each other, it makes our jobs much easier!!!!! I always give feedback!!!!!!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
I think your the expert on the listing. So you should be able to figure what why the property isn't selling or to see any flaws in the property. I think that's probably why most agents don't want to respond.

Sameer
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
I get maybe 50 percent response to automated feedback requests. And even then, the information is pretty scant.

I try to tell agents what the buyer felt was wrong with the property so they can adjust the price and also not give their sellers false expectations that they will get the price they want nor will they be under the false assumption that just because someone looked at their house that they're going to buy.

I wish more agents took the time to help other agents out. With the automated forms it takes maybe 30 to 60 seconds to leave helpful feedback - which is about how long it takes to answer a question on Trulia.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
Feedback is undoubtedly an important concern on both sides of the coin. If I am the Listing Agent and repeatedly get the same negatives I as an Agent want to be pro-active and report that to my Seller. "Lacks updates, backyard too small, etc. This will help me get my Seller on board to address some issues or adjust their price point. Cannot hurt to here from a fellow professional what their opinion is!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
What goes around comes around. I need feedback for my listings..you will get them if you reciprocate.
Web Reference: http://www.321property.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
I provide feedback if I get a call or personal email requesting specific feedback. But the showing value emails and the rest go straight to my junk folder and if I show 15 homes over the course of 3 days I'm not going to respond to any of them unless there's something wrong with the property that the listing agent needs to know about!
0 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 5, 2011
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Home > Idaho > Ada County > Boise > Agent2Agent in Boise > Question
Copyright © 2015 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer