Agent2Agent in Fort Mitchell>Question Details

Keith Bennett, Real Estate Pro in Columbus, GA

What are you thoughts on getting a home inspection on a brand new home with a full one year warranty and has been inspected by the code inspectors.?

Asked by Keith Bennett, Columbus, GA Wed Jul 20, 2011

I am a real estate agent and would always recommend that a 3rd party person be used when a experts opinion would be needed. I am just curious of others thoughts.

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

7
Buyers looking for new construction should be encouraged to use licensed inspectors. Of critical importance here in Florida is verification of soil compaction before pouring the footer. Other items of concern are termite conduits such as full bay add-ons or porches that are frame construction on an otherwise block constructed home. Of course the inspector will confirm the roof tie downs are in place as well as other hazard provisions of recent code changes.

After the home is built, the benefits reduce significantly. Yes, this is a more expensive service but the significance for the long term resident will be immeasurable. If the builder has a reputation of high quality and they are still building homes in the community, the home buyer can feel more secure. You don't want to be the buyer of the last home. Follow up on your concerns may never occur.

Code Inspectors in my area, are not held accountable for anything. Where no accountability exists, great vigilance should be exercised.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 22, 2011
I leave the option open to the buyers if they choose to do so. I have seen some builders turn their noses so to speak at the buyers wanting to do a home inspection on a brand new house. However, I don't see anything wrong with it . If it makes the buyers happy and they want to spend the money, let them do it.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Fri Jul 22, 2011
I was a New Homes Realtor for 5 years working for a Volumn Builder in The Metro Atlanta, Georgia, area. Every home is built by a variety of Sub-Contractors that have been coordinated by the builder to construct the home you are looking at. My husband and I were the builder for our personal home. There are good and bad Sub-Contractors.

Is is good that the builder includes a 1 year warranty on your home. However, you have more leverage in getting things that are not working properly corrected quickly if you discover those things prior to closing vs. after you have closed on the home.

I have seen buyers frustrated and disappointed in the timeliness in which the builder responds to correct items that are not working well after closing.

Get everything in writing, if there are items to be repaired or replaced after closing.

Getting a Home Inspection on New Construction is a good idea. They will look at the structure, as well as, the appliances. A simple wind support beam may be needed in the attic... called a purlin..... The Home Inspector Works For You! A small price to pay for your peace of mind.

Nena Pratt
Better Homes & Gardens Real Estate - Metrobrokers
Marietta, Georgia
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jul 20, 2011
The codes inspectors are not a thorough Hm. inspection. -only an abreviated version for code compliance.

The Builder and their people normally have ONLY the Builders Best interests in mind.

A Good Hm. inspector has the Buyer's (who hired & will pay him/her) best interests at heart and to garner future opportunities, will bust his/her Butt to impress the buyers Realtor with efficiency.

If there are any questionable findings, the buyer has Documented evidence and has a Lic'd professional in his/her corner. This will usually help to create a quick and favorable outcome for the Buyer.

With regards to the amt. of the over all investment, I believe It's really a small price to pay for due deligence and peace of mind.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jul 20, 2011
I recommend it -- it's the buyer's choice whether to spend the money or not.

Example. I represented a seller on a 2 year old home a few years back. When their buyer inspected it was discovered that the gas line in the attic to the furnace was not the proper length - it was too short, in the event of an earthquake it could have broken without some slack. The house passed the inspectors two years prior. So this was a cost of $600 to repair for my sellers on a home now out of warranty.
Web Reference: http://www.terrivellios.com
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jul 20, 2011
sort of like taking a brand new car to your mechanic and having him check the brakes>

sort of.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jul 20, 2011
We always recommend that Buyers do a Home Inspection, even if it's a new house. It's a chance for the Buyers to make sure everything is working correctly & get back to the builder with a punch list of things needing completion before the closing.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Wed Jul 20, 2011
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2016 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer