Agent2Agent in California>Question Details

Jamie Hennes…, Real Estate Pro in Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Does anyone have an opinion about the Android phones vs. the IPhone? I am thinking of making a switch. Let me know your thoughts. T

Asked by Jamie Hennessey, Rancho Cucamonga, CA Wed Mar 28, 2012

Help the community by answering this question:

Answers

19
BEST ANSWER
I'm not sure if the IPhone is easier to use or not. I think if you are an ITune user the IPhone is the way to go, I like all that Google has to offer. I found it very easy to use. Texting is a breeze because you can talk your text, type your text or just glide your finger to each letter in the word, no typing. Gaming and music is secondary to me, I need to get work done. I do know the IPad did not connect to printers as easy as I thought it would and I have to agree with Cathy, I didn't care for it. You just have to see which works for you.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Apr 2, 2012
I have a iphone and my wife as th Android. From what i seen I am much happier with my phone. longer battery use seamless merger of technology.

The only frustrating this is the auto correction with the text


Good luck
2 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
It all depends if you are tech savvy or not.

Iphone is easier to use, has more accessories, is more popular, because it is a single platform - itunes. The downside is that you have to always use itunes to synchronize, etc. Apple uses Safari browser, only.

Droid is Google based. It requres a few more action steps, is not as popular, and uses an open platform - you can use with any searchengine or meta search engine you prefer. You can do most things on it that you can do with a laptop. If you like Google, you'll love Droid. Emails, Google Docs, everything automatically is accessible without any work arounds since Droid accesss Google for is OS (operating syatem).

I bought an ipad and hated it. Everyone told me apple. But I like freedom, I don't like or use Itunes, and i don't like that if forces apple products on you.

I would go to an apple store and do a test run. I'd also go talk to the cell phone provider tech people since they have all kinds of expert ideas and opinions. My Verizon tech of 5 years told me Droid is better, but Ipad is "cool" and "easy."
2 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
Going to get an Android Monday as it will be compatible to my tablet and connect me with my home computer for free!
2 votes Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
I have an IPhone and I love it. I would recommend it to everyone. Also a lot of my clients and colleges have one as well making easy to share contacts and locations. Another perk to the IPhone is the ability to use it to open supra boxes and to see your supra box activity.

Good Luck,

Vidi Barker
2 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
Thanks, Vidi
Did you just go to the board to connect the supra key to your iphone? How does that work? That's a definite plus!
Flag Sun Apr 1, 2012
The iPhone's compatibility is priceless. The market is so vast that new technology is geared toward Apple products.
2 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
Love my Iphone...I'm on my third. I own two Macs (27' iMac & AirMac) and i like the fact that they all play nice together.
2 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
LOL... that is a plus for sure. I am liking the seamless feature of the phone, ipad and computer.
Flag Sun Apr 1, 2012
I have the iPhone, but I try to remember - it's just a phone. The most important tools I use are the contact database, real time stock quotes, and the ability of the phone to actually make and receive calls. I see people squinting into teenie weenie iPhone, Android and Blackberry screens and I wonder when the world will be going blind. It is not a computer! People are being brain-washed into using phones for more than they are good for. For example, why use your phone to do a property search? The only people recommending this are eye doctors who make good money selling glasses and companies selling search apps. Search with an iPad, tablet, or some type of real computer with a real screen that you can actually read! No one needs to do property searches on a itty bitty little screen! This is insanity.
2 votes Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
When I purchased my Mac Pro I signed up for the One To One hands on personal training. I've had 2 one hour personal sessions and 2 two hour group sessions. It's the greatest and quickest way to quickly accliimate yourself to all of Apple products. It's the best $100 bucks I've spent in the tech world.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
Oh yes, with the HTC you can download the app to Open Supra boxes also. Works great.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
I use an ekey whic is a Droid App. Love it!
Flag Tue Apr 3, 2012
HTC???
Flag Sun Apr 1, 2012
Have been using the HTC phone since it came out and love it, this is my second one. I can set up multiple email accounts and check all of them quickly. I get all documents in PDF format. Turn by turn GPS with voice, I love when trying to find a property. Apps are easy to get and download. Screen is large, camera takes great photos, I don't use my old camera any longer. If I am in an area without wi fi, I can get onto my laptop through the wi fi connection on my phone. Great when I am in someones home listing a property and I need to connect to my laptop. The best thing is I have a larger battery on the phone, I only have to charge it once a day and as a Realtor I am on the phone all the time. It is like a mini office. Not knocking the IPhone but it doesnt do all I need it to do.
I also have an HP Touch Pad which is Android and it has many apps as well as Skype & Blue Tooth so I can use it as a phone also if I choose. Connects to printers easy also. Plus cost less then the IPad if something should happen to it.

Good luck
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
HTC phone??
Flag Sun Apr 1, 2012
I have the I phone for over a year and absolutely love it. Far better than my last Blackberry!
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
I think everything is better than a Blackberry, even a Palm, LOL!
Flag Tue Apr 3, 2012
I just assist to the tech seminar from NAR and It look like androi have more users, more access to apps. For our job it works great!!!!
1 vote Thank Flag Link Sat Mar 31, 2012
I was a die hard not I Phone and PC devotee forever. Then I lost my cell phone in Hawaii and my wife made me replace it with an I Phone. Soon after that I disked my PC for a Mac Pro. The rest is history. Oh BTW, I did manage to buy some Apple stock about a year ago. Can't beat the combination.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Fri Mar 30, 2012
All Android phones are not created equal - get the HTC if you go that route.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
I love my android phone too! I didn't buy an IPhone because I felt the Android market would eventually over take the Apple Iphone in popularity. Don't get me wrong the iphone is a great phone, but it has been isolated from so many providers, that the it has limited it's own expansion in apps and phones.

The larger size screens and the capabilities make the Android phone a better fit for me.The programs I use seem to work better on Android. I am not saying I will never buy an iphone, but they seem to be pushing them out so often, I would be affraid to buy one today and find out the next release to be out in a few months better than the one you just purchased.

Just make sure the phone you choose will do what you currently do and what you plan on using it for in the future.

Good Luck
1 vote Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
I love my Android - I didn't get an iPhone because everyone has one... LOL... I had a hard time deciding to switch from Blackberry - but once I did I was thrilled! My iPhone friends always comment on the size of my screen - it's much larger than the iPhone which obviously makes the phone a little bigger, but I really like it a lot. It does so much more than the blackberry did. I did switch all my email to gmail since it's specific to android - I figured I'd go all the way. I love seamless access to email wherever I am.
1 vote Thank Flag Link Thu Mar 29, 2012
I'm with iphone and IPad ~ totally happy relationship. I'm not happy with att, but it is nothing to do with my toys. Can not wait to get a new iphone later this year:)
0 votes Thank Flag Link Tue Apr 3, 2012
There is a new Iphone coming out??? Do you know when?? Is it better than the one now?
Flag Tue Apr 3, 2012
Cathy, Am I missing something? My wife uses Firefox and I use Google Chrome all the time on our Macs. Safari is the default browser but it's definitely not our only one.
0 votes Thank Flag Link Mon Apr 2, 2012
I went to Verizon and asked for help. I don't recall exactly what they said, but there was definitely a safari issue. I even had my son look at it, and he's excellent at cracking code (nothing illegal, just fixing issues). I blog and my blogging site was all screwed up. I just found it more complicated to use and it required special apps to get to my email. Because Droids are Google based, there is nothing to sync. It just works better for me. I've had similar comments from other Droid users. It goes back to apple people like apple, and IBM likes IBM. I know, old school.
Flag Tue Apr 3, 2012
Search Advice
Ask our community a question
Email me when…

Learn more

Copyright © 2014 Trulia, Inc. All rights reserved.   |  
Have a question? Visit our Help Center to find the answer