Normally if you have a month to month rental (typical unless a lease specifies a different period) then only a 30 or sometimes 60 day written notice is all that is required to get you to leave.
The relevant section 8 additional requirement: "The landlord must give the tenant a three-day or 30-day or 60-day notice of termination under California law (see "Written Notices of Terminations"), and both the landlord and the tenant must give the public housing agency a copy of the notice.209 What if the landlord simply decides not to renew the lease, or decides to terminate the HAP (housing assistance payment) contract? In this case, the landlord must give the tenant 90 days' advance written notice of the termination date.210 If the tenant doesn't move out by the end of the 90 days, the landlord must follow California law to evict the tenant"
There may be additional requirements for San Jose rent controlled properties. To determine if a San Jose property is under rent control visit http://www.sanjoseca.gov/index.aspx?NID=2312
San Jose real estate information at http://julianalee.com/san-jose.htm
Top 2 agent nationwide at Keller Williams Realty, the nations largest
Over 20 years experience
Over 1,000 homes sold in Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties
I think that you should sit down with a real estate attorney, share whatever paperwork you have with the attorney and get advice that you should have gotten before you lent money to a friendâ€™s girlfriend.... more