or â€œNew Townâ€ as it was originally called, is the second oldest
neighborhood in Lake Oswego. Very little development occurred in First
Addition until the iron industry boom in the late 1880s. The
neighborhood did not experience another growth spurt until the early
When the City of Oswego was incorporated in 1910, the boundary included
only the First Addition neighborhood. The oldest homes in First
Addition are located at the east end of the neighborhood. The west end
of First Addition is generally characterized by post-World War II-era
dwellings. Many of the homes in First Addition were constructed on large
lots, which were partitioned off in later years.
Compact enough that the neighborhood can be traversed end-to-end on foot.
First Addition has an adult community center,
post office and award-winning library. Residential blocks are divided
lengthwise by 20-foot alleys that provide rear access to homes for
off-street parking, trash removal, and services.The streets were platted by alphabet from South to North and from East to West they run by numbers.
Developed more than 11 years ago, the community's plan is intended to
help retain those aspects of the neighborhood that contribute to its
quality of life: housing variety and affordability, small-town
atmosphere, walkability of streets and alleys, with access to transit
and commercial activity including Lake View Village and a multitude of
retail spaces and restaurants in downtown Lake Oswego. First Addition
has easy access to downtown Portland, area parks, movie theater and
activities around Oswego Lake.